Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe, with a few small changes for our family to include a few things that we like in our stuffing. I did add a mess of fresh minced garlic and cut back on the onion and celery just a bit so I could add a cup or so of chopped carrot. I did double the spices and I kept the salt to a minimum. I used organic broth and all organic veggies/dry bread. Because it's tradition, I did add in chopped meat from the giblets and neck that I cooked down for the juice for gravy. Really, REALLY good. Even my husband who's super traditional when it comes to stuffing loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is truely my grandma's stuffing--only in a crock pot. I tried for several years to make "grandma's stuffing". Her recipe was "a bit of this, a bit of that & until it looks like enough". I remembered how it tasted & just could not find the right one. After many attempts, I found this exact recipe in a slow cooker recipe book many many years ago. The 1st time I tried it, my mom took 1 bite & asked me how I got grandma's recipe. BINGO! After I heard Julia say that "if you salt the bird in the cavity as much as you should, you could never eat the stuffing." My kind of cook!. Hated dealing with the bird & stuffing! My son-in-law comes in Thanksgiving morning sniffing & says "YES! It is Thanksgiving!" But you must use REAL butter & don't skimp. We only make it once a year, so we just go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
My Grandma has been making this stuffing for probably the better part of 30 years... It came out of her crock pot recipe book. She does use less liquid than the recipe calls for... It's really a thing you have to 'feel' for yourself. I've made it once or twice to the same perfection that she does and it's awesome! Can't wait until Thursday... I can already taste it! THIS is what comfort food is all about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was just okay.. I still like the stuffing from the box more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Actually came out really good! No one would have guessed it wasn't made in a turkey. I could tell a little difference in taste, but the stuffing was very moist and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is a great stuffing recipe, I've used it the past 2 years and my sister says this is better than my mom's (and that is BIG!). Just a note, the amount of broth depends on how much bread and what type you use (use less for fresh bread and more for store bought packaged hard bread). I use a mixture of different types of fresh breads (rye, grainy, sourdough, etc.) that I dry out for a couple days beforehand. Also, do not add all the broth at once, keep it handly and add it as needed as the stuffing cooks. I also cook and add 1 lb sage- flavored sausage and then reduce the amt of sage in the recipe by 1/2 or more. Watch your slow cooker timing too, with my cooker (which tends to cook everything faster than called for) I only need to cook the stuffing on high for 45 min, then low for 2-4 hours. This is a delicious recipe, you will not be disappointed! Thanks, Gayle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I know there are lots of positive reviews but I did not like this recipe! No one in my family at their portion. I made it for Thanksgiving and was hopeful because it was a crockpot recipe. But we found it mushy and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
You have to try this, it is soooo good! The crock pot idea was a life saver since I volunteered to bring stuffing to a Boy Scout Dinner. I doubled everything and threw it in the crock put around lunchtime, unplugged for transportation and replugged at our celebration and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
What a delicious and easy way to make stuffing! I stuffed my turkey with it and put the extra in the crock pot. It was great to free up some oven space. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory825

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Loved the flavor of this! Have made it 3 times and 2 times it was perfect. The 3rd time it was a little mushier than we liked. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States