Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very good! But I agree, too much salt. But I did add some pork sausage in mine. Next time, I will not. And omit the salt all together, IMO. I used 4 cups of chicken broth. I will save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was a big hit! I used a box of Classic Stuffing from the grocery store plus most of a loaf of French bread which I cubed and let air dry for two days. I did not use mushrooms but added pork sausage and one diced apple. Delicious! Using the crock pot is the way to go. I uncovered it the last hour and it had just the right amount of moisture and crispness (add broth only as needed, as suggested). I can't wait to make this again. I might add another apple next time, and I want to try adding some cornbread. Thanks so much, Gayle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was so easy and freed up my precious oven space. Be sure to grease or butter the inside of your crockpot first. My crockpot has 4 settings, 4, 6, 8 & 10 hours. I used the 4 hour but only needed about 3. Still came out really good with a crispy bottom. This will become a regular method from now on! Thanks for sharing Gayle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have made this 3 years in a row. Everyone LOVES it. I get requests months in advance for this stuffing. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I just finished making this and tasted it - awesome! The flavor was so good. In the past the stuffings I've made have been bland. I used two 10 oz boxes of stuffing - they say it's 16 cups. I made giblet stuffing so I boiled the giblets and chopped them up and used the liquid for the broth, it was about 4 cups. I added the entire amount because it was just moist and I used the paper towel trick. I remove the paper towel just before I turned the crockpot to warm because it might start to dry out. My 8 year old daughter tasted it and said she was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
The recipe is absolutely delicious (after 4 hrs.), but please do not make the mistake I did. Because it called for a 4-8 hr. cooking time, I thought I had better cook it for the full time. When I checked it at about 4 hrs. it looked great and ready to use, but I wasn't sure it had cooked all the way thru, so I did the full 8. Dried and overcooked! Will surely make again and only cook 4 hrs. next time. I added cooked sausage, apples , and craisins to mine and it was wonderful. Didn't give it 5 stars because the instructions left that big window of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jiminycricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is similar to another recipe on here that I have been using for years....It is fabulous, and a clever way to make use of a portable cooking device. My oven is full of turkey right now, and my stuffing is nestled cozily in the crockpot. I omit mushrooms, and use tart apples in their place. I also beat the egg into cool broth and pour over the veggies and bread mixture. I NEVER stir...just put the lid on top and let it bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I have to start by saying that I come from a family who did not let a holiday pass without Stove Top stuffing. After trying this recipe out a few years ago, the boxed stuff is now a thing of the past... I never would've believed it! This is now our family's go-to stuffing recipe... delicious!! I cut an Italian bread loaf into cubes and toast them in the oven the day before. The next day I cook everything in the slowcooker, except I leave out the mushrooms (we're not fans) and some of the extra spices besides poultry seasoning & sage. I use up to 3 full cans of chicken broth (depending on how dry the bread is) and it comes out PERFECT every time! You can also prep all the veggie's the night before, so when you're busy the next day in the kitchen, this comes together so easily. If you're looking for the best & easiest stuffing recipe ever, then this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good! I agree it was pretty moist, and I didn't use all the broth? I just threw it in the oven and 'fluffed' it with a fork, for a bit... Otherwise; RAVE reviews for my first time, from scratch! This recipe's a keeper! I substituted apples, for the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I rated a 3 as if I made as written it would have been way too wet and would of had a 1 star. Way too much chicken broth for 12 cups of dry bread. Five star for the flavour and addition of mushrooms was great. I added additional fresh herbs as we really like a flavourful dressing. My husband said it smelled like thanksgiving when he was mixing it up. I doubled the recipe, and mixed 3 eggs and broth to about three cups for the entire batch. I did use all of the butter. My pot is pretty hot so a total of 4 hours on low and I stirred every hour and kept the lid off for the final half hour. Would leave it off longer next time just to drive off a bit more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States