Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
My familt has used this recipe for the last seven - SEVEN - years! Hard to believe it's been that long! It's a favourite for the following reasons: 1. Crockpot - freeing up room in the oven 2. Can be made vegetarian (substitute veg stock for chicken) because it isn't inside the bird! I have used both fresh sliced bread and dried bread cubes for this recipe - I find the dried works much better. I always use this recipe to stuff the turkey as well - always fantastic. The most important part is getting the stuffing to the perfect moisture level, which is easier and easier each time as you learn how it cooks - just add the stock bit by bit, and don't overdo it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESHAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this for a family Christmas supper. My Mother always added brown sugar to her stuffing and I have been trying to duplicate the flavour that everyone in my family grew up with and misses since my Mom passed away. This recipe was close to hers so I omitted the mushrooms, thyme, and marjoram and added about a 1/4 cup brown sugar to the cooked vegetables and let it cook down. My siblings and my mom's grandchildren all loved the taste and said that it reminded them of Mom/Grandma. I found it was way too much broth and so it was gummy and today when I make it I will use way less. I am going to try stuffing my chicken with it today so wish me luck!! Thanx for the memory evoking recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I like my stuffing crispy. The flavor of this is wonderful, but it was too moist for me. Maybe it's because I dumped all of the 4 c of chicken broth in at once. Next year, I'd like to add it as needed. I love the taste of celery, onions, and mushrooms as I take bites, but it was all mixed together as one mushy substance. It sounds like we didn't like it, but it was all eaten by the 6 of us. It's hard to find stuffing for the crock pot to cook while we're camping. I know this can be perfected to be less moist. It takes the longest of our dishes to make, but it's so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used less salt and less broth...just eyeballed it until it was the right consistency. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My familys favorite! I omit the eggs and make this the night before. Yesterday I re-moistened with some chicken broth and transferred to my slow cooker....started on low and turned to warm stirring every so often to ensure no sticking. I also spray my insert with a little non cooking spray to also ensure no sticking. Its a perfect tasting recipe and the slow cooker method to keeping it hot and moist .....well for me there is no other way. Second year in a row making this and will continue to do so...one less dish to re-heat in the oven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We're not big stuffing people, but DH likes it. I made this with homemade dense bread, thyme instead of marjoram, and about 3 c of broth. I used about 1/4 c of bacon fat I had + 1/2 stick of butter and that seemed to be an ample amount of fat. I made it in the crock and fridged it, then the day of, I put it on High for 1 hr, then Low. After 4 hours on Low, the outer edges were very very brown and I stirred it for even cooking in the last hour. I was pretty impressed with the flavor, although next time I'd omit the salt if I used bacon fat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Caution - Way too much liquid - I would cut it in half. I really had to work it to get it to dry out. Flavor good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I would have given 5 stars but was a little too moist for our liking. Next time I will add less chicken broth. Good recipe, I did add sausage that I saute with onion and celery, added a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
In combination with a slow cooker mashed potato recipe from this site, this recipe made my turkey dinner seem like no work at all. I prepped the day before and kept refrigerated until time to cook. I used the keep warm setting on my slow cooker as it gets quite hot, and cooked for about 7 hours. The stuffing was moist, with nice crisp bits around the outside edges. Very flavorful as well! I made a few slight adjustments to the recipe - using 1/2 the butter and omitting the mushrooms. I only needed to use 3.5 cups of the broth. The mixture was as moist as I typically make my stuffing. I am so happy to be able to streamline a typically work intensive meal. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Hands down this is the best recipe for making stuffing in the slow cooker! This is the same as making it in the bird ~ very moist and it goes very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States