Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This disapppered so fast at Thanksgiving dinner this year I'm making a double batch next year! Even picky hubby couldn't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I just tried this tonight after reading the past reviews. I lowered the chicken broth to about 2 cups and a few hours into the cooking time the stuffing looked great. I knew that the recipe said to cook longer, so I left the crock pot on and watched a movie. When I got back upstairs, the stuffing was RUINED! It was gloppy and burnt and looked like pureed baby food! I just got back from the store and will try this same recipe tomorrow (THANKSGIVING DAY 2007)since it tasted great in the middle of the cooking process. I will post an update after Turkey Day to let you know how it turned out. UPDATE NOV 22, 2007: Tried again today. Turned out GREAT! Used just half of the broth, only warmed it up in the crock pot and then let it sit until an hour before dinner and then turned it back on low heat. It was perfect! The trick is: don't stir too long, use all the broth or let sit on heat too long and it won't turn to moosh. Will definately make again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I have used this recipe for the past 4 years; I've scaled the recipe up to 25 servings for my office holiday luncheon and scaled it down to 8 servings for meals at home. I have had four years to perfect this recipe, so here are some tips. This stuffing is very, very moist so use the butter and chicken broth sparingly. 1 cup of butter is 2 sticks - I only use 1 stick for 25 servings (two sticks left a butter layer across the top). Also, I use only enough broth to just moisten the bread - I used the stated amount one year and ended up with stuffing soup (which everyone still said tasted wonderful). If I use mushrooms, I use canned. I have omitted the mushrooms and added shredded carrots that I cooked with the onions, etc. I also shred the celery. I omit the marjoram and add rosemary. Handling such a large amount of bread cubes can be unwieldy, so I put half of the bread directly into the slowcooker, follow the directions in Step 2 using half of all the ingredients, moisten with a just enough broth, and toss lightly. Then I do the same thing with the remaining ingredients in a large bowl, which I then combine with the other half in the slowcooker. Like some others, I only needed to cook this about 45 minutes on high and 3-4 hours on low. All-in-all a very nice recipe that I was able to easily change to fit my tastes. When I take this to my office luncheon, there is never any left to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Great recipe! I spoon some turkey drippings over for a "in the bird" flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This just came out horrible for me...I dont know what I did wrong because I followed recipe exactly but neither consistency nor the flavor were good. Dont know if I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made this last year and I tweaked w/it a bit. I didnt use Mushrooms only because I dont like them. Instead of the BREADCRUMBS I baked a 13x9 Pan of JIFFY CORNBREAD, about 3-4 boxes. Everything else I used and kept a close eye on it just making sure it didnt dry out. IT WAS Let me tell you the BEST ! THE best! I think the Corn bread of course does the trick! I will be passing this along to all my bloggers and myspacers and family and friends!! I think I will make some even before Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia A Maldonado

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Excellent! I used all fresh herbes (doubled) and this stuffing is the best one I've made yet. My husband loves it too, and wanted to eat the whole bowl of it. I added dried cranberries and cooked wild rice to the recipe to give it a little something different. I liked the additions, but this stuffing would be great as-is. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYRDYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I have made this many years for Thanksgiving. I even made it with vegetable broth one year for my vegetarian friends. I do not stir mine at all during the cooking process and I like it that way. It really only takes about 5 hours to cook. My mom always wants me to put it into the oven for about a half hour right before serving....but it doesn't need it!! She just likes it crunchy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slmcm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I have made this twice and the 1st time I followed the recipe exact and it came out way too soggy. The 2nd time I halved the chicken broth and it came out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Excellent. I have made this stuffing for the past 2 years at Thanksgiving and Christmas time. There are never any leftovers. The only modification I make is to add less broth. BTW I make my own pepper and onion bread for use in this recipe which adds extra fabulous flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States