Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is a very good basic recipe. I didn't add the mushrooms due to my picky kids. I personally would like it to have some craisins in it or something to give it a littel oomph. I will def add sausage next year. I cooked the veggies the night before and mixed them with the stuffing cubes (Pepperidge Farms). In the morning, I added the broth (about half of what it calls for) and the eggs. Followed recipe otherwise, stirring occasionally. All in all, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Amazing. Will make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristenmarie211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe is very good. I make it every year during the holidays. I like that I can make it in the morning and not worry about it all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
My mom and I both made this last Thanksgiving and had the same results: OK flavor but NOT a time saver! You have to stir it every half hour or so, and you'll check it much more often than that. We both decided it was done [different slow cookers and elevations] at 6 hours which may help those who would like a tighter window than "4-8 hours" when planning their cooking timeline. Regular stuffing/dressing cooked in a casserole dish just goes into the oven, and out again in under an hour. A slow cooker cannot produce the evenly crispy brown loveliness on top and solid warmth throughout you get from baking dressing in the oven; some parts charred, some parts were a little gooey, despite our attentive babysitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made this last year for Thanksgiving and my relatives requested it again this year. Thanks Gayle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I only made 1/2 a batch. I thought it could use a little more spice. I did take the advice from another reviewer and put a dish towle under the cover to help control the moisture level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Great recipe and a great way to free up your oven! This was perfect for Sunday dinner with roasted chicken. I wish I had this recipe during Thanksgiving...it would have saved me a lot of time. It's so moist and it tastes fabulous. My only caution is to only use the amount of broth necessary to moisten not the entire amount the recipe calls for or you'll end up with a soupy mess. Next time I might add in some sauage, apples or cranberries - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very easy to prepare. Used the prepared bread cubes from Pepperidge Farms to make things easier. Only used about 2 cups of chicken broth. The slow cooker was a brillant idea because the turkey is truly taking over the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmacmillans6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I found this recipe to be EXCELLENT and a way to make a flavorful stuffing without actually stuffing the turkey with it. After reading many reviews I, too, placed a kitchen towel under the lid to catch the condensation. Totally common sense, people, to use only enough stock to "moisten". I grabbed a handful of the stuffing and squished. If it (barely) held together then I was moist enough to me. I ended up using about 3 cups of broth, I used the stock left after simmering the neck and giblets that my husband likes to snack on. I think that made it taste even more like it came with the bird! My stuffing was done after about 5 hours and I uncovered the cooker and left it on warm while the rest of dinner was finished. Finally, I just could not bring myself to use an entire cup of butter! I reduced it to 1/2 cup with excellent results. My entire family loved it! Thanks for the recipe!PS: I hope the reviewer from 2001 (KRIS&PJ) who said it ruined his/her first Thanksgiving gave it another try after reading more reviews ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I thought this was a great! Easy to make and just had to lessen the broth like everyone suggested. I also stirred at least once an hour to ensure it didn't burn. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States