Slow Cooker Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
As a person who loves all things beer, I was really excited to try this recipe. It smelled so good throughout the day. What a disappointment when it finally came time to eating it. I agree with other reviewers that it was bland and didn't have much for flavor. The only change I made was to use dry thyme as I didn't have any fresh on hand. I'm not a big stew maker, so maybe there are tricks of the pros that make it better. Neither my husband nor I thought very highly of this one. I'll look elsewhere the next time I make stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
What a GREAT recipe!! I made this for St Patricks Day and I followed it exactly. I made a double batch and there was not a drop left....and several friends asked for the recipe! Will make again...and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
My husband couldn't stop raving about this stew! Cut up a pot roast into 1 1/2 inch cubes and added steak spice to the flour. Also put 2 TBS each of dijon and bbq sauce to the liquid, a bottle of amber beer and the same amount of chicken stock, which I used to deglaze the pan before adding it to the slow cooker. Cooked on high for about 6 to 7 hours and it was A-MA-ZING. Had it with the Irresistible Irish Soda Bread.... OMG it just put it over the top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie Zimmermann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Super easy, lacked flavor. Just so incredibly bland. We were all dissapointed because it smelled great from the fresh thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
As written this would have been bland for us. I mixed the flour with a lot of my low salt cajun seasoning and pepper. I also used a lot more fresh thyme, taking it out when ready to eat. Added about 4 big cloves of fresh, minced garlic. I also cooked the stew meat and then added the beer (without draining) hoping some of the bitter beer flavor would cook off. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This stew was very good and had the right amount of each ingredient, except the thyme. I put 5 sprigs of fresh thyme instead of the 1 recommended and still thought it was bland. Next time I will add a lot more and maybe some other spices. Or perhaps an additional Tbsp of dried thyme. The meat came out very tender and delicious. I will make this again, but with more spices and probably in the winter. Thanks Camping Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I had no clue what stout beer tasted like. It is kind of strong and slightly bitter. The stew has a bit of a bitter after taste to it and my husband noticed right away. He wasn't too crazy about it. He gives it a 4. However, the stew is good, hearthy, and very easy to make. I served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Really delicious but you have to be 21 to buy all of the ingredients! The better the browning, the tastier the stew definitely holds true in this recipe and the long slow cooking takes the edge off of the beer and gives the stew a marvelous flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States