Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
YUM! Used ham instead of bacon, but otherwise followed recipe exactly and it as WONDERFUL!!! Great for a cold, winter night all ready when you get home. A definite keeper and lots of leftover to freeze for another night. Thanks for sharing this GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Pretty good. I didn't have any bacon, so left it out, and meant to put in the potatoes but got sidetracked. Even so, it was a very hearty soup; probably doesn't need the potatoes and ham, but I bet it's good with it. My only note is the bacon probably adds salt and flavor; it was a tad on the bland side for me, but since I didn't add the bacon I figure that is my fault. I did have an interesting dilemma with the time frame; it was on all day on low but nowhere near done when I got home, so I jacked it up to high and it was done after two hours on high. So, for those who are having issues with lack of cooking, try different temps on your slow cooker. This makes loads of soup; we just finished it this week and made it earlier last week. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
LOVED IT and so did my family!!! I used a ham bone, instead of bacon. Otherwise, followed recipe to the tee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is the best soup recipe! My husband and I love it! I did make some slight variations. I sauteed the onion, garlic, celery, and carrots before putting in the crockpot. I also added extra garlic (I always add extra garlic to a recipe). And then added 1/2 tsp of smoked paprika and 1/2 tsp of cumin. We can't get enough of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Put this recipe in the crock-pot with a few substitutions to fit what I had on hand. I used a ham bone, and peeled and chopped a couple potatoes. It was top notch! Perfect for a cold and rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MorningCoffee13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Very yummy. Cooked for 6 hours in the crock,pot. Had to cook for a few additional minutes in a pot on the stove to thicken it up. Next time will try with hamsteak. Try it. It's good and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I liked this a lot ... I thought the addition of potatoes was a bit much ... pea soup is already pretty thick and starchy, right? I cut up a ham steak instead of bacon(I hate soggy bacon). Next time I'll probably omit the potatoes, keep the ham steak large, remove it before serving, puree the soup a bit (with immersion blender)and then cut up the ham and put it back in. I will make again with my suggested changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Good stuff! A hearty split pea soup. Substituted Roasted Red Pepper & Spinach Sausage for the bacon. Other than that change, made as written. After trying some, we wanted a more creamy texture, and decided to gently blend it in a Vitamix (#1 setting for about a minute). When made again, we will add some seasoning beyond black pepper to satisfy our taste preference. The combination of hash browns and mild heat from the red pepper flakes sets this split pea soup apart from most others. This is a very simple recipe, and aided by the convenience of a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Wow... Never thought of adding hashbrowns, bacon or red pepper to pea soup, but what a GREAT flavor is added to the soup. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I followed the directions to a T. 12 hours after first turning it on - I still had crunchy peas. I added more liquid (though that didn't seem to really be an issue in the first place, but I thought it might help), and another 12 hours go by - CRUNCHY PEAS. I've turned the heat up on the crockpot to high, b/c I think that might be the only way to fix it. I don't want to waste the ingredients by throwing it out. It's useless as it is now, though. I had been keeping it on low b/c it was not being supervised (first, away from the house for 8 hours, then overnight while we slept). Now that I'll be home to watch it all day, I will see if high helps. If not - I may have to change my review to 1 star. I only gave it 2 so far b/c the flavor & idea of the soup is okay - the problem was execution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States