Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made as is (with the addition of some salt at the end)and it turned out great! I had fully cooked peas at the end and it really hit the spot tonight. Will be adding into our repertoire. Yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annaelise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I wanted to make this recipe as I didn't have a ham hock. I usually get irritated with all the changes people make to a recipe and then say it's good. But, due to time constraint, I didn't make this in a crock pot, I made it on the stove top. I took some suggestions from other and used bacon AND cubed ham, added cubed potatoes as I didn't have hash browns in the house and added more garlic. Oh boy...it's gooooooood! My husband LOVED it and said this was his favorite soup I've ever made! I have to admit, I loved it too and will keep this as a favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
One of our staple dishes now. Even our toddler loves it! Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Cundiff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Had crunchy peas so I let it sit for a further 6 hours (stirred after 7 hours). OMG, delish and super filling. The red pepper flakes gave it a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Very good... having had issues with split peas not cooking through in the slow cooker before I soaked them overnight. Forgot to decrease the liquids, so it was a little watery... I simply took some of the liquid and cooked off another cup of peas with some of the additional bacon I had fried up, and a little more sauteed onion. I added some hot chili powder in the place of red pepper, as I love the flavor of it in split pea or lentil soup. Next time I will add a couple bay leaves and perhaps a bit of ham base. (Better than Bouillon brand base) This recipe is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made it as is and loved it. Second time, I borrowed some inspiration from our favorite Indian restaurant. I reduced potatoes by half and substituted chopped cauliflower of about same size as hash browns. Additionally added cumin and curry powder. Yum, yum. Even better reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I usually just use the package recipe, but this was great. @SilverXeno: The key to making split pea soup is to boil it first for 25- 30 minutes (or more), and as it boils it needs to be stirred, frequently. When the broth starts to turn greener, you turn the heat down to medium. as it gets thicker you then turn it down to low. Pea soup never worked for my parents as a crock pot dish because as you know, it doesn't come out right. I hope you have better luck with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Delicious! I started this last night and let it cook all night. It does take close to 12 hrs. (in my cooker, at least) for the peas to be done. Didn't have red pepper flakes, so I threw in a dash of cayenne and some smoked paprika. True comfort food - thanks Barb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great recipe! Followed to a T except used broth from boiled beef tongue instead of chicken broth...awesome flavor! Cooked on low for about 12 hours...split peas were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Great recipe, great flavor! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Golden Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States