Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I blended about 2/3 of it after it was finished cooking to make a creamier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe is really good. I did tweak it slightly. I sauteed the onion in the bacon fat. I also added some ham. Really delicious and surprisingly filling for a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Hancock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This was a great fall recipe and easy to prepare...having read the reviews I soaked the peas in a little water the night before to soften. I cooked on low about 10 hours while I was at work...the only thing I think I'd change is cut down the broth to make it thicker...I also cubed up ham rather than bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Very good... I really enjoyed it. Doubled the recipe and have two nice size containers in the freezer for future lunch/dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barrera Jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
What am I missing here? I followed the recipe and as others have noted, the peas were still crunchy. I have turned it up to high to see if that helps, but there is no flavor! bland...bland..bland. Trying to figure out how to save this pot of flavored water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I used turkey bacon, added more veggies (carrots, celery, potatoes) than the recipe called for, and added just enough broth to where I felt it would still cook everything. It was AMAZING! I accidentally forgot the pepper flakes and it was STILL an amazing soup! So easy and SO yummy, I am going to bring it to my next winter potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somers, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I had never made split pea soup before and my hunny was going on and on about his exs. So of course I had to find a recipe. He really like this, I made almost as stated above, He isn't in to runny soup so I cut the broth back by about 2 cups. It made the soup thick and stick to your ribs. I also omitted the red pepper flakes since I was out. Is only suggestion was to add a bit more salt as he felt it was lack, I may have been a little lite with it during the cook because of the broth and bacon. Will be making again with maybe a touch more salt in the cooking time. Mine was in the crock pot for 8 hours on low and then another hour or so on warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was delicious! The only thing I would change is the serving size because there wasn't enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I literally just finished my first bowl of this soup, and wow! I followed the recommendations of some reviewers, so this review may be slight misleading (sorry). Some changes: instead of potatoes, I used cauliflower, instead of chicken broth, I used veggie broth, I pumped up the spices with cumin, garum masala, and tumeric, and blended 1/3 of the soup for a more creamy consistency (since I had no starch from the potatoes). Also, Instead of adding the bacon at the beginning, I cooked the bacon in a skillet in the last hour and a half, separated the fat from the bacon, spooned a couple of teaspoons in the soup and used the crispy bacon bits as garnish for the end result. It's atypical for me to use bacon at all in a meal, but it really made this dish something special. Never had a split pea soup so tasty, and I'm proud to say I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The flavor was so so. Family gave it a big thumbs down, even my split pea lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States