Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Used the suggestion of using 8 cups of liquid and I used chicken broth and the consistency was perfect for us. I also used spicy turkey sausage that I baked in the oven first and that gave it a kick. I did not have potatoes to put in but it was fine without them. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rosanna_sf
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
We did a slightly vegetarian version and loved it. Cut out the sausage. Didn't have celery so didn't include that either. Then we cut the water from 10-cups to 7 and cut the bouillon from 5 to 3. It was still on the salty side but it blended up so nicely. Thicker and creamier than the 10-cup version...and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Excellent soup and extremely easy. Did the recipe as prescribed and it turned out superb . Creamy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evon B Moyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent. I used a Cajun seasoned sausage which added a nice kick, also used 8 cups chicken broth instead of the water/bullion combo. Husband and 10 yr old son gave high ratings on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
After 5 hours on high + 3 more on low, the peas are still hard. Does anybody have a suggestion for a fix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I wanted a recipe that I could use the leftover ham and bone from a spiral cut ham. I cooked the ham and bone first in the crockpot for 4 hours, removed the meat and bone, and added all of the other ingredients, then added the meat back and cooked for another 4-5 hours. So good and even better the following days. Because I used a sweet ham it was not salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Loved this recipe! Used sweet Italian turkey sausage, minced garlic instead of powdered, and 8 cups of water instead of 10. This is going to be added to my list of favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the green girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Great in winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this with a smoked ham shank and even though I halved the recipe (too much for two) I used a full 1lb shank. I also used chicken broth.It came out really well but I have to add that like a lot of soups/stews this comes out better if you wait and reheat the next day (I cooked this on low and added some water since it was getting too thick). Very easy to prep. No need to add any salt (or very little) since the ham gives off a lot of salt naturally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this with a smoked turkey drumstick from our local Renaissance Festival instead of the sausage. I pulled a lot of the meat off and put in the frig to add after everything cooked in the crock pot. I put the leg with meat remnants into the crock pot for flavor and removed after about 5 hours then I added the meat from the frig. I was going from memory and forgot the bay leaves and oregano, but added salt and pepper. I used 8 cups of water and a crushed clove of garlic instead of garlic powder. I served this with a loaf of crusty u-bake bread. Fantastic! Brought back memories of my grandma's split pea soup. Perfect for a rainy Sunday after spending Saturday at the Renaissance Festival!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States