Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Bouillon cubes?!? No way. Maybe when I want to trigger a migraine. Folks we have to be able to do better than just pour MSG on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this with a smoked turkey drumstick from our local Renaissance Festival instead of the sausage. I pulled a lot of the meat off and put in the frig to add after everything cooked in the crock pot. I put the leg with meat remnants into the crock pot for flavor and removed after about 5 hours then I added the meat from the frig. I was going from memory and forgot the bay leaves and oregano, but added salt and pepper. I used 8 cups of water and a crushed clove of garlic instead of garlic powder. I served this with a loaf of crusty u-bake bread. Fantastic! Brought back memories of my grandma's split pea soup. Perfect for a rainy Sunday after spending Saturday at the Renaissance Festival!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe. I used fresh garlic and about half the bullion cubes and it was perfect for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I used this as a base recipe. Had a late start on dinner so did not soak the beans. Just put them in with a mixture of water, chicken broth and a couple of boullion cubes plus chopped onion. Only started with about 6 cups of liquid but did add more along the way for a total of about 8-9 cups. After about 30 minutes, I added 4 chopped carrots and 32 celery stalks chopped. Also added some oregano, marjoram, pepper. Simmered for another 30 minutes or so adding liquid as needed. This does tend to stick to the bottom of the pan and burn so stir frequently as it thickens up. Added 3 cut up smoked apple/chicken sausages about 10 minutes before finished. Add a splash of sherry to the soup on serving and stir for a little extra flavor. Served with soda bread. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Meh... both my boyfriend and I were craving really great split pea soup. The first time I made this I added some extra spices-big mistake, not required at all. Following the recipe exactly I had a better outcome but I don't like that the soup settles the way it does and feel like it isn't quite what I was looking for. 3 stars for health value and ok taste but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This is a good recipe. I'll be making it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
My family loved this recipe so much I am trading my Mom's Split Pea Soup recipe for this one (sorry Mom)! It was easy, the ingredients were on hand and it was easy to tweak to fit my husband's taste; his only suggestion was to give the smoked sausage a little fry action before adding it to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabihoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
great recipe for the crockpot! Other than using the sausage I didn't change a thing. Rather than the sausage I threw in two ham hocks. I let them cook in the soup all day then removed them, shredded the meat and added it back to the soup. The soup was a little thick at the end so I just added some additional stock to thin it to the consistency that I wanted. Very good... thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Best Split Pea Soup I have ever made. I did every thing recipe said to do. Except I used chicken sausage instead and I put 1 1/2 pounds in instead of 1 pound. My husband like lots meat. He said it was best Split Pea Soup he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States