Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was good, but a little bland. I added Tabasco to spice it up. Decreased water to 8 cups also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
No one really cared for this soup. We all ate it but no one really liked it. It's too bad because is was so simple to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Just like Momma made! very good, freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I really enjoyed the simplicity and flavor of this recipe. However, the cooking time is way off. I checked this after 5 1/2 hours high, and the peas were still crunchy. Don't know about you, but I like my split peas completely cooked and on the mushy side. I served after seven hours on high, and truthfully, I would have liked to let this go at least another hour. I have a newer crockpot, and it runs hot. I did use chicken broth in place of the bouillon/water, and added some minced garlic and celery seed, black pepper to the mix. Tasty recipe, just let it go all day and you will be fine :) Loved the addition of smoked sausage, gives the soup great flavor. Thanks for shaing this, I enjoyed trying your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Made this soup yesterday Omg! it was soo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SpiceCooks
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This soup was superb! We made it exactly like the recipe, changing only using 10 cups of chicken broth instead of bouillon and used chopped garlic instead of the powder. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Let me start by saying we loved this soup and it was even better the NEXT day, but I did make some changes. First, I only used about 5 cups of organic chicken broth which I think makes all the difference in the world. It's richer, bolder flavor adds to the soup in ways powdery bouillon simply cannot. I also used fresh garlic and skinless turkey sausage. The split peas I used cooked down until they were smashed to a pulp creating a very traditional pea soup in just over 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Really easy, really good. I think next time I'll use ham instead though. I think that will give it the edge to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This rating is based on the soup that I made, and made the following tweeks: 1.) Instead of using bouillon cubes, I used 5 cups chicken broth, and 5 cups water 2.) I omitted the sausage and potatoes so there were less calories 3.) Spices - I added also: onion powder, celery salt, black pepper & white pepper 4) I cooked it in the crock pot a little longer, and it came out creamy, and there was no need for a blender! It was really amazing; as good or better than any restaurant!! The leftovers are even better because the soup thickens up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdg2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States