Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I changed the recipe a bit. Left out bullion, celery, orgeano, bay leaves. 1 tsp each of garlic powder, onion powder, Mrs Dash, salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper. Going to put the potatos, onions, carrots, in the blender next time, easier cleanup and faster. Used Kielbasa, and this was possibly the best pea soup I have ever tasted. I don't find that broth or bouillilon add to the flavor of anything I cook, so started leaving them out and find the flavor improved on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Doubled garlic and used fresh, used ham w/ ham bone. Added pepper. 8 cups of water, No sausage. Great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I didn't care for this at all. It turned out like a big thick flavorless glob of smooshed peas and potatoes. I probably cooked it too long, but I cooked it for less time than what was recommended. I'm not sure I would try this again without some adjustments. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very nice. I only used 4 boulion cubes and found it was flavourful and still satly enough. I would sugest to make sure your potatoes are choped small as they should become the thickness. Your sausage is the most important part of the soup as it give off the most flavour. So choose wisely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Dogg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very good. I used a 2.5 quart crock pot and halved the recipe but it was overflowing. I substituted ham for the smoked sausage. IT ended up a little too overcooked (all the peas turned to mush) so I would turn down the temp a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
A wonderful recipe! Instead of using sausage, I used a ham bone from the local Honey Baked ham store. I also used five cloves of minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I also added some fresh black pepper. I cooked this on the slow cooker at a low setting for 8 hours. When it was done, the entire first floor had this nice aroma. Then I ate it and thought I died and went to heaven. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
We liked this a lot, and it tasted even better as leftovers. Had to add more seasonings, but that was an easy fix. I used turkey smoked sausage. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Just made this soup and it is delicious! My crock pot is a little smaller so I only used 6 cups of water, 3 veggie bouillon cubes, and turkey kilbasa but kept the other proportions (so it would be a little more thicker) and it turned out great. Would definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this with bacon ends instead of sausage and it turned out great! Nice and thick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is the best soup I have had in a very long time! I did use 8 cups of water instead of 10 and it took a lot longer to cook in my slow cooker than directions stated, but oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States