Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
So good!!!! I used chicken broth ( it was on sale ) and used left over ham from thanksgiving , great easy delicious recipe can't wait to try it with sausage , turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was good . Stick with cooking time suggested . I cooked on low for 8 1/2 hrs. , and veggies turned out too mushy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Ok taste (good base for a pea soup...), but too watery. Not a great consistency. Next time less water and some kind of thickener (and maybe more potato too) would help next time. Also, bacon was mushy. Next time I will use the drippings and crumble the bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I don't know about anyone else; I didn't care for pea soup when I was a kid, but not anymore. What a super idea with the slow cooker. I'm very traditional when it come to the meat in the soup; ham all the way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My entire family (husband and 3 kids) LOVES this -- winner! Such a good fall/winter recipe. Oh, and easy, easy. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Awesome soup! My husband who doesn't like soups at all ate double portion! I added ham instead of sausage, cook 4.5h on high in 7lb slow cooker. Then, I added a Wondra to make it thicker, 3 fresh rosemary, lots of pepper, and a little bit of basil, and cook for another hour on medium setting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
tastes great. i didn't have potatoes so i added 1 tbs of corn starch and 1 cup of milk to give it some creaminess. Also, I followed the suggestion of another review who stated 10 cups of water made it too watery. I only used 8 cups and with the corn starch and milk it thickened up a bit. I'll make again and try the potatoes to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I used ham base in place of the chicken broth/bouillon. My incredibly picky boys begrudgingly took a nibble, ate their bowls & went back for seconds. That's worth 10 stars here. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is the only way I made Split Pea Soup now. Making it in the crockpot is not only easy and economical, but it's healthier than canned because I control what's in it. I don't add meat to the recipe, but my daughter likes to serve hers with bits of cooked ham. I pop my immersion (stick) blender right into the crock pot after it cools a bit, and blend til smooth. Delicious! I also freeze it in single serving containers to enjoy later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Tasted like an authentic split pea soup, but unfortunately was pretty bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States