Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
delicious! I put the sausage in just long enough to heat it up, or else it loses its flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I had a hankering for split pea soup and used the above recipe for my crockpot. I had a hamsteak with a bone which I chopped up and used about a cup full in the recipe. I used homemade chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes because I had it on hand. After turning the crockpot off, I took out the bayleaf, and let it cool down and placed in the fridge. The next day I pureed it in the blender. This split pea soup is very very good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Wow, I love this soup! I followed the recipe, the only change being that I used ham instead of sausage. When it was done I removed the cubed ham, pureed the soup, then added the ham back in. It had a creamy texture and was just right with salt and spices. I agree with the other reviews that this makes a lot of soup. Mine was filled to the brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This turned out ok; alot better than canned soup! But I wish I'd read the reviews beforehand. I would have known to add less water. Will keep the recipe though to tweak it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Best pea soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a good base recipe but I didn't feel it had enough herbs in it and it was definitely too runny for my taste. I also tried it with Italian Sausage and the oregano flavor was too strong. Perhaps I simply don't love oregano enough to love this recipe as is! However, over time I've modified it down to a version that my family loves!!! Everyone has several bowlfuls when I make it. I've saved a custom version of my changes for anyone interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I make this with ground turkey (browned) instead of sausage. First time was out of necessity (that was all I had), now I only make it that way - healthier and still delicious. Husband loves it, too. This soup has definitely become part of my standard slow cooker dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
excellent. My only problem was that the ham steak I added tasted like nothing at the end. I think next time I'll add it near the end of cooking or try the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Extremely easy to throw together. I used pork bones ( didn't have any sausage). My hubby & 10 year old LOVED it. This goes into my recipe box for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENJENJEN09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
So good!!!! I used chicken broth ( it was on sale ) and used left over ham from thanksgiving , great easy delicious recipe can't wait to try it with sausage , turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States