Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Very good crock pot split pea soup! Changes I made were using 8C. chicken broth instead of 10C. water & bouillon cubes. I used turkey kiebasa & did add more spices! Fresh pressed garlic, savory, parsley, pepper, & a touch of cayenne were a few additions I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This soup was disappointingly bland. I had made 2 changes - 8 cups of chicken broth an used smoked ham instead. I doubt if I haven't made changes the result would have been any better. I had to add a lot of spice after to make it even worth eating... I love split pea soup but just not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Easy to make and boyfriend approved! I used chorizo instead of smoked sausage or ham. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Used a Ham bone from xmas ham. Used 8 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Celery, carrot, onion, 1 bay leaf and pepper. OMG tastes fantastic!! Very thin hopefully it will thicken upon chillin.... Will def use this again. Must be the best soup I have made... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very yummy though I did make a few tweaks....I used a leftover ham shoulder bone in place of the sausage, omitted the bouillon and potatoes since I didn't have them on hand and used a full teaspoon of oregano. Also reduced the water to 6 cups for a heartier soup. Fantastic and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Came out awesome. Another recipe that my husband loved. I opted to use diced ham instead of sausage and it was wonderful. Great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Cut the broth back to 8 cups and STILL too watery. I didn't expect super thick but this was very thin. Not the split pea soup I was expecting. That said, the taste was very good. I'll probably try it again with 4 cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I used the leftover hambone from thanksgiving & added a hamhock for smokey flavor. I also did 4 cups chicken stock & 4 cups water. In the last hour, I added a pound of cubed ham. If you add it in the beginning, it will be the size of a pea .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Best and easiest split pea soup. I grate all the veggies using my cuisinart and use 8 cups broth instead of 10 cups water. Excellent. I have made this countless times and have all my friends making it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was AWESOME! I halved the recipe because there are only two of us. I also used chicken broth rather than going the bouillon route because I happened to have some in the fridge. I actually ate two bowls full of this stuff. Sooooo good!. This brought back great memories of when my dad made erwtensoep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States