Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This didn't have a whole lot of flavor. I added a lot of spice/heat to give it some more oompf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I modified into a vegetarian version by leaving out the sausage. I also replaced the potato with sweet potato. Who knew pea soup could be so simple and delicious!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
good, but i'd recommend more salt. the 2nd time i used left over baked ham and used a stick blender to pulverize it a few times to smooth it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I really liked the potatoes in the soup. I used the chicken broth as others suggested and cooked it on low instead of high since I have a job to go to all day. I spaced on the sausage but it was still good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Yummy. Yummy. Yummy. Everyone that tried it loved it. I will make again! I followed what someone else suggested. I used 8 cups chicken broth instead of the water. No boullion cubes. I used minced garlic instead of powder. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I thought the 5 hours was too long to cook it. By that time the peas had practically disappeared and the vegetables were very soft. Won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Five stars for this one. Ummm Ummm tasty! What I did was add sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes and smoked ham instead of sausage. And I used home made chicken broth along with salt and fresh pepper to taste. My lady love it and thats what I'm taking about eh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This turned out wonderfully! Used leftover ham instead of the sausage, 8 cups of water as suggested in previous reviews with two large boullion cubes quartered and substituted oregano (none on hand) with italian seasoning. Tossed in some peppercorns as well. Set on low for 8 hours in the crock and came home to dinner..Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caranam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
good, but not noteworthy. Might want to add some marjoram and/or thyme. Try ALL chicken broth, instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Hearty, yummy soup. A comfort food dish for sure. After reading reviews I also substituted 8 cups of chicken broth (2 big boxes) in place of the water and chicken bouillon cubes. I used white potatoes and 1/2 tsp of Italian seasoning (instead of just oregano) and I added 1/2 tsp of black pepper. I also used 1lb of a bone-in ham slice that I found in my farmers market, chopped it up & put the bone in as well for extra flavor. Cooked on high for 6 hours, came out perfectly delicious!! Will definitely be making this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States