Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Wonderful! Ive always had my own recipe for split pea soup and I've always loved it. It just never occurred to me that would be a quicker way to make it and this is just the bomb! just marvelous. I admit i made a couple of changes, but purely because of our tastes - I absolutely HATE bay leaves and I used jarred crushed garlic. Next time I'm using pork ribs in stead of the sausage. and with that - I'll have 3 versions of the best pea soup ever :) thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This soup was great! I had never made split pea soup before, but I was having a craving and had all the ingredients for this recipe already! Following others advice, I used less water. I also added some salt, because I used homemade chicken broth. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I did make it on the stove, and I was worried for the first hour that maybe it would be very thin, but it began to thicken up and the end result was a delicious, thick, smoky split pea soup. I froze about half of the recipe and it freezes very well. A keeper for my next split pea craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
YUM!! I did 4 cups chicken broth, 4 cups of water, 2 bouillon cubes & threw in an extra potato and used minced garlic instead of powder....so good. I think this will be replacing my old favorite pea soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Really a perfect recipe. I used 8 cups (or whatever fit in my crockpot - probably more like 6) of low sodium chicken broth instead of bouillon and water. I also used sweet potato because we like them more. And it came out thick and perfect. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Simple and amazing! Made it stove top due to time restrictions but my children asked for seconds and my husband asked me to make it again. A new family Fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This recipe is so simple and the flavor is just wonderful! It's definitely a go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Excellent just as the recipe is...I made no changes except cut the water to 8 cups because my crock was to small..came out perfect and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This didn't have a whole lot of flavor. I added a lot of spice/heat to give it some more oompf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I modified into a vegetarian version by leaving out the sausage. I also replaced the potato with sweet potato. Who knew pea soup could be so simple and delicious!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
good, but i'd recommend more salt. the 2nd time i used left over baked ham and used a stick blender to pulverize it a few times to smooth it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kijest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States