Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I had a spiral ham bone and some ham leftover from a party. I boiled the bone down to get the meat off and used that water for the base. Half ham water, half water so it wouldn't be too salty. I didn't add the bouillon and skipped the sausage because of the ham. This was excellent soup and perfect for a winter's day. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Love it! Used ham and chicken both in place. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very good! I chicken stock instead of bouillon, and a half cup of barley (added toward the end) instead of the potatoes. The smoked turked sausage was delicious in it. My husband and daughter loved it as much as I did. I also made it on the stove top instead of the crock pot because my power was out! Was absolutely delicious and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very good, tasty and easy to make. I love slow cooker recipes that go together quickly in the morning and this is one of those. The only thing I would change is not putting quite as much water in it. Maybe 6 - 8 cups of water instead of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is a delicious and easy meal - add another bonus, inexpensive - which is why it deserves a five star review. I've made it using both turkey sausage as well as vegan. I just added some salt and pepper to the vegan version - and the soup was delicious, particularly on the second day. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and I'm joining the ranks of the few people who gave this a low rating--everything in the soup turned out crunchy, and the broth was without flavor. I pureed the mixture and added salt and pepper...it has gotten better since then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very good. Made for my mom, boyfriend, and kids. we all loved it. served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I made this soup exactly by the recipe. It smelled great, but looked a little watery to me. My wife had gotten a submerging blender for Chistmas, so we strained out the bay leaves and meat and let it do it's thing. It turned out thick and consistent. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seldomhome

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eyota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was easy and tasty. It made A TON though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made a few changes to this recipe. To cut down on the salt, I used two quarts of low sodium chicken broth instead of the water and chicken bouillon cubes, minced garlic not garlic powder and 1 lb. of the Boston butt my husband smoked over the weekend. I also cooked it on low in the crock pot for 8 hours. This soup was easy to prepare and an outstanding meal on a cold January night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monty's Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States