Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JillyBean
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I used a left over ham bone and reduced water to 8 cups as suggested. Glad I did. After cooking for 5 hours on high the soup looked very thin and watery but flavor was great. I was making it for the next day so put the soup in a container and stirred it up when ready to reheat and it thickened right up to be smooth & creamy. First taste was a bit salty, the following day the flavors melded together even better and doesn't seem salty at all now, just right. I love that the soup is tasting better and better each day. Will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Had to give 4 not 5 stars because of alterations, BUT...Great soup, easy directions, and easy to improvise on! I did follow liquid amounts listed on bag of beans, prefer thick pea soup. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Used the suggestion of using 8 cups of liquid and I used chicken broth and the consistency was perfect for us. I also used spicy turkey sausage that I baked in the oven first and that gave it a kick. I did not have potatoes to put in but it was fine without them. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rosanna_sf
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
We did a slightly vegetarian version and loved it. Cut out the sausage. Didn't have celery so didn't include that either. Then we cut the water from 10-cups to 7 and cut the bouillon from 5 to 3. It was still on the salty side but it blended up so nicely. Thicker and creamier than the 10-cup version...and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Excellent soup and extremely easy. Did the recipe as prescribed and it turned out superb . Creamy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evon B Moyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent. I used a Cajun seasoned sausage which added a nice kick, also used 8 cups chicken broth instead of the water/bullion combo. Husband and 10 yr old son gave high ratings on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
After 5 hours on high + 3 more on low, the peas are still hard. Does anybody have a suggestion for a fix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I wanted a recipe that I could use the leftover ham and bone from a spiral cut ham. I cooked the ham and bone first in the crockpot for 4 hours, removed the meat and bone, and added all of the other ingredients, then added the meat back and cooked for another 4-5 hours. So good and even better the following days. Because I used a sweet ham it was not salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Loved this recipe! Used sweet Italian turkey sausage, minced garlic instead of powdered, and 8 cups of water instead of 10. This is going to be added to my list of favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the green girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Great in winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States