Slow Cooker Spinach Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
This is a very good recipe. I changed a few things to suit myself, but overall... very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
What a good recipe! I did cut the amounts of salt, pepper and garlic in half. I layered it with lasagna noodles and cheese - the "hot spinach lasagna" was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This sauce was really good! I added chopped green pepper, more mushrooms and tomato juice. Next time I will use less spinach and less crushed red pepper; it was a little too spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Excellent and super easy. I added too much red crushed pepper, but I love spicy food anyway. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Terrible, the over powering oregano flavor made it impossible for us to eat this sauce. Annette Jensen- Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Great, very spicy though. I used 1 12 T of salt, oregano and basil and only 2 T of crushed red pepper. It was too spicy for my son but it made exellent chicken parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Great recipe. I altered the spices to fit our own preferences and added a very tiny pinch of cinnamon. DH, who hates spinach, loved it but our boys who aren't normally finicky didn't care much for it and they normally love spicy things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munford, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
A great recipe for the slow cooker. After reading some of the reviews, I too decided to cut down on the herbs. Instead of using tablespoons, I used teaspoon measurements. It was awesome and went well with the gnocchi that I used. I think you need a heavy pasta to go with this sauce which turns out quite thick. I may even scale down the amount of tomato paste the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
this recipe is decent for a shopping list. the first time i followed the recipe exactly, but the onions and garlic never broke down and melded with the other flavors. the second time I sauteed the onions and garlic in the olive oil, adding the herbs and spices one minute before removing from heat. i also added some chicken broth to thin it down and some sugar to calm the acidity of the store-brand tomato paste i bought. the result was delicious! three star recipe, five star results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was a great sauce that I will definitely be making again. I reduced the salt, oregano, and basil to 1 tbsp; the red pepper to 1/2 tbsp; and the tomato paste to 1 (12-oz) can. It was very thick in my slow cooker and I had to add a little water. I used this in place of the tomato sauce in the Tofu Parmigiana recipe on this website and also served it over penne pasta on the side. My husband and I were disappointed when we ran out of leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States