Slow Cooker Spinach Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
this recipe is decent for a shopping list. the first time i followed the recipe exactly, but the onions and garlic never broke down and melded with the other flavors. the second time I sauteed the onions and garlic in the olive oil, adding the herbs and spices one minute before removing from heat. i also added some chicken broth to thin it down and some sugar to calm the acidity of the store-brand tomato paste i bought. the result was delicious! three star recipe, five star results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
A great recipe for the slow cooker. After reading some of the reviews, I too decided to cut down on the herbs. Instead of using tablespoons, I used teaspoon measurements. It was awesome and went well with the gnocchi that I used. I think you need a heavy pasta to go with this sauce which turns out quite thick. I may even scale down the amount of tomato paste the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Not good, the spinach, carrots, and mushrooms are a good idea however the recipe calls for too much tomato paste and not enough crushed tomatoes. There was too much cracked red pepper and not enough garlic. My mouth was on fire, next time I will try my own measurements with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
What a good recipe! I did cut the amounts of salt, pepper and garlic in half. I layered it with lasagna noodles and cheese - the "hot spinach lasagna" was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was a great sauce that I will definitely be making again. I reduced the salt, oregano, and basil to 1 tbsp; the red pepper to 1/2 tbsp; and the tomato paste to 1 (12-oz) can. It was very thick in my slow cooker and I had to add a little water. I used this in place of the tomato sauce in the Tofu Parmigiana recipe on this website and also served it over penne pasta on the side. My husband and I were disappointed when we ran out of leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Some of the reviews weren't good, so I wasn't expecting much, but this was pretty tasty. I did, though, adjust the recipe based on suggestions. Didn't add salt, added less oregano, then fresh basil at the last hour of cooking. Just a sprinkling of crushed red pepper, but it still had a bite. Used only 1 can of tomato paste--plenty--in fact, next time, I might skip it and just add some tomato sauce. Was quite thick--I ate it on spaghetti, but I think it would work great in a spinach lasagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was pretty good. I let out the Olive Oil, really didn't see a point to it. I let the sauce cook for about 3 hours on low, and then added 2 chicken breasts, and continued cooking for about 5 more hours on low. The sauce was really really thick. Next time I think I will add a little white wine, and maybe some chicken stock to thin it out a little. All in all though, nice and healthy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Excellent! Everyone loved it. Absolutely THE BEST marinara sauce I've ever had... BY FAR! It was definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Terrible, the over powering oregano flavor made it impossible for us to eat this sauce. Annette Jensen- Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I used caution with the spices, figuring that you can always add, but you can't take away. My sauce turned out delicious, but I went very easy on the spice: I added no salt, but I did sprinkle some garlic salt after it was plated, 1 T oregano, 1 T basil, and a dash of red pepper flakes (if I'd used 1 1/2 T as called for, I don' think it would be edible). I trimmed down the olive oil, and sauteed the onions and garlic before putting it to simmer. I omitted the mushrooms. I reduced the tomato paste to just a few squeezes of the tubed paste. I used fresh kale instead of spinach. I really like the carrots and greens in this sauce. Now that I think about it, I wonder if the recipe was supposed to be in teaspoons rather than tablespoons?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States