Slow Cooker Spinach Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. It has way too much salt and herbs in it. Even too much olive oil. Cut down on the seasoning and the oil, and it is a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Some of the reviews weren't good, so I wasn't expecting much, but this was pretty tasty. I did, though, adjust the recipe based on suggestions. Didn't add salt, added less oregano, then fresh basil at the last hour of cooking. Just a sprinkling of crushed red pepper, but it still had a bite. Used only 1 can of tomato paste--plenty--in fact, next time, I might skip it and just add some tomato sauce. Was quite thick--I ate it on spaghetti, but I think it would work great in a spinach lasagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was pretty good. I let out the Olive Oil, really didn't see a point to it. I let the sauce cook for about 3 hours on low, and then added 2 chicken breasts, and continued cooking for about 5 more hours on low. The sauce was really really thick. Next time I think I will add a little white wine, and maybe some chicken stock to thin it out a little. All in all though, nice and healthy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Excellent! Everyone loved it. Absolutely THE BEST marinara sauce I've ever had... BY FAR! It was definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Not good, the spinach, carrots, and mushrooms are a good idea however the recipe calls for too much tomato paste and not enough crushed tomatoes. There was too much cracked red pepper and not enough garlic. My mouth was on fire, next time I will try my own measurements with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe BUT I think there has to be a misprint ... 2 1/2 TABLEspoons of red pepper flakes?? I only used 1 1/4 and our mouths were on fire...I will definitely try it again BUT with maybe 1/2 TSP of red pepper flakes so the flavor of the other ingredients have a chance to come out more ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Deliciouso...As a new slow cooker user vegetarian single guy this is a great recipe. Nice and chunky and fresh when you use fresh ingredients. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was very disappointing. When following the recipe exact, it was incredibly too salty. I had to add an extra can of diced tomatoes and 2 cans of tomato sauce and it still was unsucessful. We also added 3/4 cup sugar to attempt to kill the over powering crushed red pepper. I had higher expectations, but this time this recipe wasn't for me. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati Foster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was a great sauce that I will definitely be making again. I reduced the salt, oregano, and basil to 1 tbsp; the red pepper to 1/2 tbsp; and the tomato paste to 1 (12-oz) can. It was very thick in my slow cooker and I had to add a little water. I used this in place of the tomato sauce in the Tofu Parmigiana recipe on this website and also served it over penne pasta on the side. My husband and I were disappointed when we ran out of leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
this recipe is decent for a shopping list. the first time i followed the recipe exactly, but the onions and garlic never broke down and melded with the other flavors. the second time I sauteed the onions and garlic in the olive oil, adding the herbs and spices one minute before removing from heat. i also added some chicken broth to thin it down and some sugar to calm the acidity of the store-brand tomato paste i bought. the result was delicious! three star recipe, five star results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States