Slow Cooker Spinach Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I used caution with the spices, figuring that you can always add, but you can't take away. My sauce turned out delicious, but I went very easy on the spice: I added no salt, but I did sprinkle some garlic salt after it was plated, 1 T oregano, 1 T basil, and a dash of red pepper flakes (if I'd used 1 1/2 T as called for, I don' think it would be edible). I trimmed down the olive oil, and sauteed the onions and garlic before putting it to simmer. I omitted the mushrooms. I reduced the tomato paste to just a few squeezes of the tubed paste. I used fresh kale instead of spinach. I really like the carrots and greens in this sauce. Now that I think about it, I wonder if the recipe was supposed to be in teaspoons rather than tablespoons?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is so good for a change! Smelled so good when I came home from work. I added a 1/2 lb. of browned hamburger. I used a 28oz. can of diced tomatoes and crushed tomatoes and 1 6oz can of paste. Less salt and a sprinkling of sugar. This cooked all day on low. I mixed this with a box of cooked rigatoni. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I didn't use near as much salt and crushed pepper as the recipe called for, and I added at least 3 cups of water, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This recipe just doesn't work with the given measurements of just about everything. Too much tomato paste for sure and DEFINITELY too much crushed red pepper. I only added one TBSP and it was way spicy. Herbs were overboard as well. It was a thick mess once cooked, so I added red wine, diced tomatoes, water, anything to thin it out. This recipe has good "bones" so if you just use this as a guide and you are a skilled cook, you can make it work. I would also cook on low for 4-6 hours only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I used fresh spinach and chopped carrots. Didn't need the oil, but i'm trying to gain weight, so it was good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I like the idea of the spinach and other veggies in my sauce, but the herbs and spices are all wrong. Everyone who commented mentioned the tomato paste overload, and they are correct. I am going to try it again with 1/4 C red wine and am making appropriate adjustments to the herbs. Any time I see 2 tbs SALT in a marinara, I am dubious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miimii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I took another reviewers suggestions and sauteed the vegetables in the EVOO. I did increase the carrot to a cup and I added about a cup of finely chopped zucchini. I also used fresh spinach, only because my family dosen't care for the texture/taste of frozen. We like our sauce a little thicker, so this was perfect for us. We had this over buttered hot thin whole wheat spaghetti tossed with parmesan cheese. We all inhaled it. This recipe is perfect for times like this, when you have an abundance of wonderful homegrown produce and items you can buy cheaply. Not a whole lot of money was put out, even to cook it! NOTE: If you have small kids like we do, set out the red pepper flake on the table to add for the big folks. If you add as much as the recipe calls for, you'll have unhappy kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I'm saying 5 stars with my minimal revisions. I used a package of frozen spinach and DID NOT thaw or drain, just threw it in as it was. I think that is what kept it from being too thick. Also I only used 1 6oz can of tomato paste. Also only added a sprinkling of S&P at the end of cooking. It was so delicious. My brother said it was better than store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I LOVED this sauce! I took the advice of others and changed the seasoning measurements to teaspoons. And I omitted the paste and used tomato sauce instead. Cooked on high for 3 hours...PERFECT!!! Used as the sauce for lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Love this recipe. I modify as follows: - add 1.2 lbs ground turkey; brown with the onion and garlic - use 2 6 oz cans tomato paste - 1 15 oz can tomato sauce - anywhere from 4.5 - 8 oz mushrooms Leave everything else the same and it turns out fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ada, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States