Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Awesome recipe for black-eyed peas! I used 5 cups of chicken stock instead of water and boullion cube. Ham steak instead of bacon and increased garlic to 4 cloves. Also, added one bunch of collard greens 1.5 hours before end of cooking time. Cooked on high for 4 hours, then reduced to low for 2 hours. Served with sour cream, green onions and cilantro...best black-eyed peas ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe was great!! I am from Georgia, so this was perfect for our New Year's day good luck dish. I added a bit more garlic and a few shakes of hot sauce, and it was very tasty. My husabnd raved they were the best he's had. Beans were perfectly cooked- although I did take the advice of another review and cook on high for the first hour.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Everyone in our family, including kids and serious foodies, raved about it. I fried the bacon and crumbled it and then used a small amount of the grease to saute the onion, red bell pepper, jalapeno, garlic, cumin, ground black pepper, and cayenne, before adding everything to the crock pot. I used boxed chicken broth instead of boullion (4 cups plus 2 cups water), and the resulting thick soup was very flavorful with no additional salt needed. Served with sweet, moist cornbread. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe! I have been asked to make it often...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I had high hopes for this recipe since it was so highly rated. Followed the recipe exactly, but unfortunately, no one in our family liked it. We just don't like black-eyed peas no matter how hard we try, I guess. This recipe sounded really really good, and is probably outstanding if you like those nasty black-eyed pea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Super easy recipe that just gets better and better as it sits. Twice as good the 2nd and 3rd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These were phenominal!!! i used stock instead of water and boullion. I used 2 jalapeno's and about 5 garlic cloves and the whole ham steak. Very flavorful and spicy! This recipe even converted 3 black-eye-pea haters!! way to go MJ46NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Pretty good as it is! Added some extra cabbage for good luck =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was excellent! I made a few changes based on reviews I read. I used two ham shanks, and left out the bacon and diced ham. I used 5 cups of water instead of 6, and I did not add salt. I also left out the jalapeño pepper. I will definitely make this again. The ham shanks gave it a great flavor, and it was plenty spicy without the jalapeño pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Turned out great even though I had to make substitutions because I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand. No bouillon and only had one can of chicken broth, so I replaced 2 c. of water with a can of broth. Subbed thickly sliced carrots for bell pepper. I'm not sure the bell peppers would have made it through an overnight cooking anyway. Subbed jarred jalapenos for fresh. Used hog jowl instead of bacon. (I have never had hog jowl "on hand." Someone told me it was part of the New Year's tradition. Not sure what part of the pig it is, but it was tasty.) :) Put that in the slow cooker on low the night before (beans were not pre-soaked) and had it for lunch the next day with cornbread. Added several handfuls of chopped kale about 20 minutes before serving. My husband added pepper vinegar because he likes things spicier than the rest of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Yummy! I like to amp up the seasonings...more garlic, cumin, and I also add a handful of chopped cilantro. Sliced smoked sausage is good in this, too. Really great served over rice, with a squeeze of fresh lime! With a salad, it's a great meal. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States