Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Excellent! Perfect blend of spices. Used a ham hock instead of ham/bacon, just becuase that's what I had on hand. For once, I made beans/peas and it was wiped clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I have made this twice. I have followed the directions and only made slight changes. I put the marinade and drippings from my ham in with everything else. I omit the bacon and salt. I also just throw the whole jalapeno in and mash it up once it is pretty cooked. Our kids are not yet accustomed to spicy, so we serve over rice with sour cream to mellow the spice. My husband adds some kind of hot sauce to almost everything he eats and he doesn't add it to this! :) (As you can tell I generally make this the day after a ham dinner!) Freezes well...if there are leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Excellente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
love. My husband HATES ALL BEANS...refuses to eat em...when i even bought the bag of blackeyedpeas he complained it was 2dollars wasted...i begged him to try these...he refused. After seeing everyone else LOVE THEM...he gave in and now he brags about my black eyes peas and whenever i mention them he says "yum"...he even declares it "the only beans ill ever eat". THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Webb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
My husband loved this recipe. I left out the jalapeño but will add it next time. I didn't use bacon as there was none in the house but I had a huge ham bone which flavored the beans quite nicely. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSalt44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
3 stars because the kids and DH didn't seem to thrilled. I made it w/o the cheese though. Also cut spices down a little and was still had a nice bite. I froze the second half - we'll see if I can make it more appetizing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
First time I've ever made black-eyed peas of any kind and I will say I'll be making them again. I'm only giving a 4-star because I feel there needs to be more flavor here, for us anyways. Next time I'm going to add more of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
The only thing I did differently was the night before I boiled the left over ham and bone for about an hour.Strain the ham water through cheese cloth, refrigerated ham water. Next day skimed off the solid fat and used the ham water for my liquid. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Fantastic recipe. Spicy and flavorful. Fed a group of forty last night at church with these peas and had many outstanding compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Boston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States