Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We love spicy food, but this was just a little too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I changed the ingredients, and normally do not rate when I do that, but did anyway since this was the first time I have cooked black-eyes in a crock pot, but that is the only way I will cook them from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Used fresh Mexican chorizo (1 pound; cut each sausage into thirds) in place of ham and bacon, the paprika in the chorizo did not distract from the wonderful taste. Left out the cayenne as did not need that much heat. A great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We loved it! I'm going to do again before next New Year's Day. It was great, but ours was done in 5 to 5-1/2 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StamperDog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this for our New Year's dinner and it was excellent. The only thing I did differently was to use ham hocks (as that was what I had) instead of the ham, and also used only homemade chicken broth. I added 16 oz. of Kale during the last hour of cooking for additional nutrition. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dojose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I love this recipe! I just tone down the spice for the kids because otherwise it would be too spicy and I leave out the bell pepper because I'm not a fan of bell pepper. I use chicken broth instead of bouillon since I don't keep the cubes around, leave the salt out, like other reviewers say and serve it with cornbread! It's always better the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was good, I wish I would have been able to follow the recipe more, but I didn't have everything. I omitted the jalapeno because it would have been to spicy for my kids, I add diced chilies instead. Didn't have ham so I added salt pork. It made the house smell great and everyone loved it. All my kids and husband ate them. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Made this on a spur-of-the-moment. Didn't have ham,so used chicken. Also only had two cans of black eyed peas, so added those to the crock pot during last hour or so. YUM! Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
As another reviewer said I, too, don't like to give 5 stars when I change the recipe. But this is great the way it is. (Albeit possibly too salty). What did I change? Chicken stock - no bullion. Ham hock - no diced ham. Omitted the salt & the bell pepper. I'm from Texas & have been growing then cooking my own peas for years. This is an easy almost dead on Southern New Year's Eve/Day staple. Will make again & again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this on a whim because I like Blackeyed peas anything with a lot of spice. I was not expecting this to be as spicy as it was. Very warm and very good flavor. I will do this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States