Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Left out the bacon, but these were the absolute best black eyed peas I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I had some fairly thick sliced sugar cured peppered bacon and it added an excellent taste. I also thought the recipe was a bit too spicy so I added frozen whole kernel corn, an extra cup of chicken bouillon, a can of cream of celery soup and a few other spices (like Nature's Seasoning, Accent, basil). Started out in a slow cooker but ran out of time and switched to a stockpot and cooked on the stove. Served over cornbread. Yum! I will definitely make this again. Had forgotten how much I like blackeyed peas. We ate this this for 3 nights, which is quite unusual...we are not big fans of leftovers. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great recipe for black eye peas. Different from my norm. Did not have the jalapeno pepper and did not miss it. It was very spicy. Did not use bacon, did not miss. I used an 8 0z ham slice diced. No need for salt at all. Started them in the crock pot, but ran short for time and finished them on top of the stove. If they turn out too juicy,just smash a few peas and stir, this will thicken the broth. This pot of pea went faster than any I've cookd beause there were different. Very tasty. My daughter asked for the recipe. She will probably add the jalapeno. I can't take the fire - lols. Using this recipe again tomorrow, but with pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We love spicy food, but this was just a little too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I changed the ingredients, and normally do not rate when I do that, but did anyway since this was the first time I have cooked black-eyes in a crock pot, but that is the only way I will cook them from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Used fresh Mexican chorizo (1 pound; cut each sausage into thirds) in place of ham and bacon, the paprika in the chorizo did not distract from the wonderful taste. Left out the cayenne as did not need that much heat. A great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We loved it! I'm going to do again before next New Year's Day. It was great, but ours was done in 5 to 5-1/2 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StamperDog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this for our New Year's dinner and it was excellent. The only thing I did differently was to use ham hocks (as that was what I had) instead of the ham, and also used only homemade chicken broth. I added 16 oz. of Kale during the last hour of cooking for additional nutrition. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dojose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I love this recipe! I just tone down the spice for the kids because otherwise it would be too spicy and I leave out the bell pepper because I'm not a fan of bell pepper. I use chicken broth instead of bouillon since I don't keep the cubes around, leave the salt out, like other reviewers say and serve it with cornbread! It's always better the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was good, I wish I would have been able to follow the recipe more, but I didn't have everything. I omitted the jalapeno because it would have been to spicy for my kids, I add diced chilies instead. Didn't have ham so I added salt pork. It made the house smell great and everyone loved it. All my kids and husband ate them. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States