Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
DElicious as is. I had to put mine in pressure cooker though, because the beans were still hard. Serve with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
A 5 star recipe. I made the following deviations. First, I omitted the ham and bacon from the recipe. Instead, I used one large smoked turkey drum stick. The drum sticks are sold in pairs in the meat section at a grocery store for about $6 for 2 large drum sticks. The smoked turkey drum stick is a healthier alternative and still has as much flavor as ham and bacon. The second drum stick was placed in the freezer and will be used for a future soup dish. I also had some carrots in the refrigerator which I pealed, diced and added to the mix. Secondly, I added the diced bell peppers later on. Unlike black eyed peas, the bell peppers are more tender and can get mushy if cooked too long. Third, I did not pre-soak my black eyed peas. Not necessary due to the slow cooking process. Fourth, I added twice the amount of minced garlic. Fifth, no salt was added. Sixth, I added raw shredded kale, diced green onions, a small amount of lime zest and grated Parmesan cheese to each serving bowl. The reason for the raw kale is to have the combination of soft cooked peas, carrots and peppers with the crunchy kale. To make the shredded kale, I removed the large thick spines from the plant and then placed the remainder on a cutting board. Then I took a sharp knife and sliced the kale as thin as possible. Although I made a number of substitution and alterations to the original recipe, the result is a much more healthier and tastier recipe. My wife loved, loved, loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Maybe I cooked the beans incorrectly. I followed the recipe except for the jalapeno and red bell peppers and it was just too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Definitely a winner. I modified it a little and added a tablespoon of roux...what can I say? I'm from New Orleans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACKEDTIGHT
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made this tonight & wow, this was yummy. I simmered it for 8 hours. I also was out of cayenne pepper and instead used a pinch of red pepper flakes and probably used about 1tsp of salt. Very yummy. This is the first time I made it and I was impressed. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good. I modified it quite a bit. My mother has cancer, so cannot tolerate anything spicy. I eliminated the jalapeno and cayenne then used only 1/2 tsp of pepper. I didn't have any ham, but I used pork neck bones. Because they're bones and bones make broth, I eliminated the broth and used plain water. Finally I put in a can of diced tomatoes and decreased the water to 5 1/2 cups and then followed everything else. Perfect! My family ate it all and loved every bit of it. For those who wanted spice, they used Frank's red hot sauce and said that was amazing. This is a keeper and I'll use neck bones from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was phenomenal! Thanks to Ti for the reminder that black-eyed peas don't need soaking; I'm making another batch now. I used what meat I had, being turkey links & leftover bacon, 3X the garlic & cumin, a voila! I thought I had nothing for dinner & was pleasantly surprised. Very simple, not gourmet, but a humble 'Comfort Food' meal I'll memorize for anytime. Great for hiking/camping w/dried goods, too. For these, I give 5 Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luloo
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
So fabulous! I had made this for New Years Day and decided to add my collard greens to it. Not only did it taste fabulous, but the presentation was amazing. I served it with fresh hot cornbread! Yum. I also did not soak the black eyed peas and everything was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
My family really enjoyed this, but then we love black-eyed peas. I used chicken broth rather than bouillon. Will be making this again...easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
YUUUMMMY ! Easy to do, little time spent on prep. Nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States