Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by bethanncarder
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Fantastic recipe that I totally recommend for anyone. I used chicken broth instead of the cube out of preference. I also left out the jalapeno chile (for my son's mild taste buds) and the ham (I didn't have any so I just added a bit more bacon). Everyone loved it. Going to make again as a main course rather than side along with some cornbread. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe for black eyed peas and one of the main reasons I love them is there is NO need to soak them. Gathering the ingredients, I realized I didn't have everything on hand and as I couldn't face going to the grocery store on New Years Eve (what a madhouse) I improvised..... I subbed low sodium chicken broth for the water and bouillon; no jalapeno, so I increased the cayenne to 1 tsp; no onion, so I subbed one packet of Lipton onion soup mixture; and no ham, so I subbed two country pork ribs, along with the bacon. Added an extra clove of garlic, 1 tsp of liquid smoke and increased the cumin to 2 tsps. Shredded the pork into the peas when finished.... Delicious!!! Husband who dislikes black eyed peas had two bowls! I realize I changed the recipe to fit what I had on hand, but I can only imagine the original was excellent as well. Definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this recipe for a New Years Eve party and it was a big hit! I did make several changes to accomodate midwestern palates not accustomed to spice and friends who don't eat pork as well as adding collard greens for even more New Years luck (beans for coins, greens for bills I read) and carrots (personal preference) so I can't really rate original recipe but we really liked this version: Recipe alterations: I used 2 c water & 4 c veg broth, omitted boullion & cayenne, used smoked turkey for ham and turkey bacon instead of regular, omitted salt, used 1/2 gr bell pepper in place of jalapeno, added 4-5 carrots, and added 1 bunch collard greens 1-2 hrs before completion. I did soak beans overnight in 2 c water, then rinsed them and added just the 4 cups veg broth before starting the crockpot in the a.m. Cooked on low for first 6 hr but beans still hard so high for last 2 hr. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I left out the spicy stuff and just used neck bones instead of ham.. added 5 slices of bacon and left everything else the same and everyone loved these. I'm not a fan of black eyed peas so I'll have to take their word for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made these leaving out the jalapeon pepper and the red bell pepper and it was excellent. Every last drop was eaten. Will be making again on New Year's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
tastes great but has way to much sodium. subsitute low sodium stock for bouillon cube and water and use low sodium bacon and this becomes a delicious, nutrious, heart healthy dish anyone from 6 to 60 can enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Never been a fan of black-eyed peas, but since I was having a NYE party last year, felt obligated to make some. Found this recipe and it was as awesome as it looked. Addded some cilantro since I had some left over for a little extra kick. Guests enjoyed it- very little ended up in the trash. Getting ready to make some more this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wow! I grew up on Black Eyed Peas as my mom is from Arkansas. I was never really fond of that dirt kind of taste. This is with out a doubt the best recipe I have ever tried. I did add some collard greens in the last hour, only took 5 hours on low in my slow cooker and as I do in all veggies because of my southern roots, added just a touch of sugar! Incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hallie Alameda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
DElicious as is. I had to put mine in pressure cooker though, because the beans were still hard. Serve with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
A 5 star recipe. I made the following deviations. First, I omitted the ham and bacon from the recipe. Instead, I used one large smoked turkey drum stick. The drum sticks are sold in pairs in the meat section at a grocery store for about $6 for 2 large drum sticks. The smoked turkey drum stick is a healthier alternative and still has as much flavor as ham and bacon. The second drum stick was placed in the freezer and will be used for a future soup dish. I also had some carrots in the refrigerator which I pealed, diced and added to the mix. Secondly, I added the diced bell peppers later on. Unlike black eyed peas, the bell peppers are more tender and can get mushy if cooked too long. Third, I did not pre-soak my black eyed peas. Not necessary due to the slow cooking process. Fourth, I added twice the amount of minced garlic. Fifth, no salt was added. Sixth, I added raw shredded kale, diced green onions, a small amount of lime zest and grated Parmesan cheese to each serving bowl. The reason for the raw kale is to have the combination of soft cooked peas, carrots and peppers with the crunchy kale. To make the shredded kale, I removed the large thick spines from the plant and then placed the remainder on a cutting board. Then I took a sharp knife and sliced the kale as thin as possible. Although I made a number of substitution and alterations to the original recipe, the result is a much more healthier and tastier recipe. My wife loved, loved, loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States