Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I have made these numerous times with navy beans instead of Black eyed peas and they turn out just as good. Definitely 5 stars and always a party favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
A Really yummy spicy meal. I Love it. I followed the recipe as directed with minor alterations. I didn't have quite enough cumin left in my jar. So I Added chili powder a shake of ginger. A dash of Worcestershire sauce. With things like this you can play around with seasonings. I didn't add any salt. It was salty enough. I added a frozen block of chopped spinach. I used 6 cups of water total and I think that's fine. It's a chunky soup type consistency. That's what I wanted. I added a tablespoon of corn starch to thicken the soup up. (I mix cornstarch with a small amount of cold water first) then add. And I made some gluten free biscuits to go with the soup and wow what a fabulous meal. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made these as directed. They are OK but could stand a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It was good. I expected it to be spicier, but i liked it. Would add some more jalapeno next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
need to ease up on spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
wonderful!! added pork roast leftovers to this dish- mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Outstanding! This will be a family favorite! My wife found it a bit too spicy so I will use half the pepper next time. Personally I thought it was perfect as is. Thanks for this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Wasn't impressed when I made it last year. However, there were so much left over I packaged it for the freezer. Needed a starch for dinner this evening, so we heated it up in the microwave. Must say -- time improved it dramatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Perfect! I just left out the jalapeño and cayenne because I didn't want it to be a Mexican dish (just served it with baked ham rolls) Guests were so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Excellent and easy! Followed recipe; didn't change a thing. Boyfriend who doesn't like black eyed peas, said this was the best bean dish he has ever had. For those who said their beans were still hard after cooking 6-8 hours, I believe, based on past experience, that beans do get old and don't soften when cooked properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States