Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I didn't use the ham at all, increased the cayenne pepper, and served it over corn bread. Tasted 10x better a couple of days later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I changed very little with this, instead of water and a bouillon cube, I just used low-sodium chicken broth because I already had a box open and why not? Also, I didn't buy bacon, I had about 1/3 jar of real bacon bits that I threw in there. I didn't add any salt because I figured the ham and bacon would be enough and I was right. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic! Spice is just right as is the broth. Perfect with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So easy- did not soak the peas! Delicious! Used chicken stock instead of water and chopped up a few grape tomatoes also- I just had them around. Used green pepper instead of red cause that was in my fridge. So yummy and delicious. Did not use the hot pepper or cayenne cause I'm a wimp but my family can add hot sauce at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is so good... I only revised it very little. I did soak the black eyed peas overnight with some baking soda, because mine were old and I was worried if I didn't, they wouldn't get tender. I also used chicken broth in lieu of water and bouillon, and threw in a handful each of celery and carrots. You definitely don't need added salt if you use chicken broth. Being a Yankee, I didn't know what to expect, but I totally loved it. :-) Served cornbread muffins along side and bread pudding for dessert. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This one of my "go to" recipes especially in the winter. It is flavorful and spicy. I make it vegetarian by leaving out the ham and bacon and using a veggie bullion cube. It is so good. I like it with homemade crusty bread or corn bread or just by itself. I make it often. No need to pre-soak the black eyed peas. I also make them on top of the stove, simmer for about an hour or until tender. They are even better the next day if they last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Humdrum side dish. The leftover peas tasted better a day later, perhaps closing in on a 4* rating. Made as written which was a mistake. Almost always sub broth for a bouillon cube, and should have done so this time. The excessive water is intended to cover all the ingredients while slow cooking but has to be drained off unless wanting to have black-eyed pea soup. A lot of flavor is lost by draining it away. Doubt we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
What a great recipe! I made 1 slight change, I omitted the jalapeño and doubled the cayenne pepper only because I forgot the jalapeño. Still, it tasted amazing! I cooked on low and they were ready early at about 5 hours. Still, great recipe. Much better than eating the canned ones full of preservatives. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These were just amazing. They did have a bit of a kick, but it you like dried beans, these were just outstanding. I followed the recipe exactly as it was, no alterations. We've had this twice now and I'm going to make it for our next church supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States