Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
What a great recipe! I made 1 slight change, I omitted the jalapeño and doubled the cayenne pepper only because I forgot the jalapeño. Still, it tasted amazing! I cooked on low and they were ready early at about 5 hours. Still, great recipe. Much better than eating the canned ones full of preservatives. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These were just amazing. They did have a bit of a kick, but it you like dried beans, these were just outstanding. I followed the recipe exactly as it was, no alterations. We've had this twice now and I'm going to make it for our next church supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as printed except I doubled the garlic. This was a GREAT meal!! I will make this again in the fall with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Cooked it just as it was. I didn't change anything. Thought it was fantastic. I served it over brown rice. Very easy and all the flavors were great. I'm making it again and putting it in the freezer so I can have quick meals on days i'm too lazy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 46Gators

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I did not like this, even though I followed the recipe exactly. Very boring and bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I make this recipe and freeze the leftovers. When they're gone I make it again. This is SO tasty. The only thing I change is that I use one can chicken broth, 1 can veggie broth and 3 cups of water instead of the 6 cups of water. My husband and I both love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
We have made this recipe twice for good luck on New Year's Day. Because my husband is not fond of spicy, I omitted the jalapeno, but otherwise followed the recipe, except for using bacon instead of ham. The first time I soaked the beans, which worked out fine. This time, I took the advice of many reviewers and did not soak the beans. It was lucky that I had decided to prepare the recipe the night before, as it took over 12 hours to cook on low (raised to medium half-way through). Next time, I will play it safe and soak the beans! Family loved it, and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I was disappointed. Eight hours was too long to cook the beans. The consistency was terrible. I didn't have a jalapeno and cayenne is all heat, so I used 1 tsp. Chipotle powder to replace both. I also used chicken broth and water to replace the bullion cube. It had no flavor except heat! When I reheated the leftovers, I added a can of diced tomatoes, chili powder and extra cumin. I then served it over brown rice to cut heat and improve the consistency. It tasted better. I just can't stand to waste food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Left out the bacon, but these were the absolute best black eyed peas I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I had some fairly thick sliced sugar cured peppered bacon and it added an excellent taste. I also thought the recipe was a bit too spicy so I added frozen whole kernel corn, an extra cup of chicken bouillon, a can of cream of celery soup and a few other spices (like Nature's Seasoning, Accent, basil). Started out in a slow cooker but ran out of time and switched to a stockpot and cooked on the stove. Served over cornbread. Yum! I will definitely make this again. Had forgotten how much I like blackeyed peas. We ate this this for 3 nights, which is quite unusual...we are not big fans of leftovers. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States