Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
A Really yummy spicy meal. I Love it. I followed the recipe as directed with minor alterations. I didn't have quite enough cumin left in my jar. So I Added chili powder a shake of ginger. A dash of Worcestershire sauce. With things like this you can play around with seasonings. I didn't add any salt. It was salty enough. I added a frozen block of chopped spinach. I used 6 cups of water total and I think that's fine. It's a chunky soup type consistency. That's what I wanted. I added a tablespoon of corn starch to thicken the soup up. (I mix cornstarch with a small amount of cold water first) then add. And I made some gluten free biscuits to go with the soup and wow what a fabulous meal. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made these as directed. They are OK but could stand a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It was good. I expected it to be spicier, but i liked it. Would add some more jalapeno next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
need to ease up on spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
wonderful!! added pork roast leftovers to this dish- mmmm revised 2-15: added pork chops to the top of the slow cooker over the beans instead of the ham and bacon. Also added 3 jalapeno's, 5 cloves of garlic chopped and a few stalks of celery and and a chopped carrot, and a splash of liquid smoke. Used a quart of home made chicken stock instead of the water and bouillon cube. Also doubled the cumin- so very, very good- a co-worker who is from Mississippi asked me for the recipe and said that she and her family love it! If I could rate it higher than 5 stars I would- I love dried beans and these are some of the very best in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Outstanding! This will be a family favorite! My wife found it a bit too spicy so I will use half the pepper next time. Personally I thought it was perfect as is. Thanks for this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Wasn't impressed when I made it last year. However, there were so much left over I packaged it for the freezer. Needed a starch for dinner this evening, so we heated it up in the microwave. Must say -- time improved it dramatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Perfect! I just left out the jalapeño and cayenne because I didn't want it to be a Mexican dish (just served it with baked ham rolls) Guests were so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Excellent and easy! Followed recipe; didn't change a thing. Boyfriend who doesn't like black eyed peas, said this was the best bean dish he has ever had. For those who said their beans were still hard after cooking 6-8 hours, I believe, based on past experience, that beans do get old and don't soften when cooked properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Really good, super easy and will make again! The beans do not need to be pre-soaked and thus the liquid content turned out perfect for us. I only used one slice of bacon but otherwise made as directed and cooked in a slow cooker for 8 hours. I won't pre-cook the red bell pepper next time as after 8 hours of additional cooking, they were pretty much pulverized and I would have liked them more intact. I didn't salt the beans at all prior to cooking but felt it needed a little salt. Also, this was not spicy enough for us so I added 3 or 4 squirts of tabasco and a few shakes of Tony Chachere's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States