Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe! I have made this several times and it is always a winner! My friends beg me to make this for every gathering! There is no need to change anything, but sometimes I add a little more cayenne or jalepeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corbettland
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
made as written.....did not like at all. maybe i just dont like black eyed peas? it just tasted like eating beans,....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
agreed; soaking these peas overnight is not necessary, as they cook up nice and soft during the 8 hours. I turn the crock pot on high the first hour, then down to low for another 6-8 hours (or however long you're gone for the day; they'll keep just fine!). I would recommend chicken stock rather than water and bouillon cubes. Also, I used smoked turkey drumsticks or wings to flavor mine, rather than ham; it's just lower in fat and still gives amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These are the best black eyed peas ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Turner Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I had a leftover pork shoulder bone and scraps that I added for flavor. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camp Lester, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Easy recipe that tastes great. We weren't fond of BEP's but we had always had canned. Someone told me that they were better if they were made from dried beans, so I wanted to give it a try. I picked this recipe because we like spicy foods. It was a hit, even the leftovers were devoured a couple days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very tasty soup. Made 3 weeks ago. My other half is not especially fond of black eyed peas but he loved this and asked me this morning when was I going to make it again. He also told several of our friends how much he liked it. So I am making it today. The only change I made was I only used about half of the called for amount of cumin because I don't love the flavor of it. A little cumin goes a long way for my liking. I wish I could rate it a 4 &1/2 instead of 4. I try to save 5 stars for stuff that absolutely BLOWS me away. I will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
The only thing I did differently was to add a can of corn. The left overs are just as good the next day! I'll definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I cooked this dish on stove top and it took about 2 hours. I would cut the water down to 5 cups. Flavor is very good for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great recipe, but I made some changes to make it healthier. Used canned chicken broth instead of water and bouillon. Left out the bacon and ham and used 1 lb of chicken andouille sausage. Left out the cayenne and chili. Added 4 cups of spinach and 2 carrots. Cooked for about 4 hours, came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States