Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Totally awesome New Year's dish! Being from the south, New Year's day demands that one have black-eyed peas. Sadly, I have never been a fan of black-eyed peas. Regardless, tradition dictated that this once a year ritual must be done. I tired this recipe with no changes and loved it! It was amazing how delicious this made those previously despised peas. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Best black-eyed pea recipe ever. Only adjustments I make are using chicken stock and adding one can of diced tomatoes. I use pepper bacon for an added kick. Fantastic with a little sour cream and cornbread. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I cooked these for New Years Day. My husband does not like onions or peppers, but when he went back for seconds I knew we had a hit!!!! Love it I will never good back to plain black eyes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I didn't use a slow cooker, used 2 canned blacked peas, cooked bacon with onion,garlic, cumin and peppers. Then added broth and let simmer for a good while. Served with corn bread. It has become a New Year's day tradition. Friends and family look forward to this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Second year in a row I've made these! So super good! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Great recipe. Left out the ham and added one can of Rotel tomatoes. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
FABULOUS!!!! These are SO good, will always be a recipe in our house, YUM! The only thing different, cooked in chicken broth, no water, and added a teaspoon of chicken base. What a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was really good. I only used half of a jalapeno and I used 2 country style pork ribs, cut with fat trimmed off, instead of the ham and bacon. Subbed 2 cans of broth and then used water to make up the 6 cups. No buillion. It turned out still spicy but not too much. SO delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
We doubled the recipe with the following changes. We used hog jowl instead of both the ham and bacon. We halved the cumin. Used only 1 onion. Used 4 bags frozen (thawed in fridge overnight) black eye peas instead of dry ones. We didn't add the cayenne pepper nor regular pepper. Added 1 tsp salt. The second time I made this, I added some andouille sausage that was fried in olive oil first. Made in a 6 qt crockpot on high for just over 4 hrs. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I have made these numerous times with navy beans instead of Black eyed peas and they turn out just as good. Definitely 5 stars and always a party favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States