Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I moved to the south in 2010 and decided I'd better add black-eyed peas to my cooking repertoire. The first 3 recipes I tried were not promising. But we finally found a winner! I'm enjoying next-day leftovers now. I followed the advice of another reviewer who substituted low-sodium canned broth for the bouillon cube and it worked out great. Instead of ham & bacon I used 10 oz. diced salt pork and omitted jalapeno (just didn't have it in the house) and the finished stew isn't missing a thing! Everyone in my family enjoys it too and we'll definitely be having this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe! I substituted one package of jalapeno sausage for the bacon and ham. It was spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Finally! Flavorful black-eyed peas that don't taste like dirt! Great recipe! I omitted the jalapeno since my kids don't like that much spice. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
They really don't need to soak! This recipe is the bomb! I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Beek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
SO yummy! I used 5 cups chicken broth, added an extra jalapeno for some additional kick and added cooked shrimp for the last 30 minutes. My parents who have never had black eyed peas before thought this was fantastic! It was a little bit runny, but a half an hour cooking with the lid off took care of that not a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was a wonderful meal! Being from the south, I used smoked sausage and tasso, adding a bit more seasoning. I always brown the meat and drain any grease before adding it to the slow cooker. About an hour before done, I use a potato masher- to make the peas and gravy a bit more creamy. This recipe works for dried field peas and baby limas, too! I do use a bit less water than called for. Potatoes, added about an hour or so before done, are a good addition. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
A little too much onion for my taste and I like onion. Ended up diluting the batch of dried peas with a can of peas which helped tone down the onion a little. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I loved this and so did my husband!! It was delicious, although I must say I made a few changes. We are both in graduate school and on the tightest budget of our lives, so I tried to make it cheap, but full of flavor, as well as just a few taste preferences. First of all, I noticed others said they don't soak black eyed peas, which I didn't know, but at the same time I do like a little broth in my soup and I was making this to be like a soup, so I rinsed the peas and then soaked them for maybe an hour or 2 max. I don't like the flavor of regular bouillon cubes at all, I am hooked on "Better than Bouillon", so I just added a spoonful of that instead. Also, I left out the diced ham due to budgeting reasons and just used the bacon and it was still great! I didn't miss the ham at all. Also, to add flavor, I cut up the strips of bacon and browned them in a skillet, then removed the bacon and added the onion, garlic, bell pepper, and jalapeno to the bacon drippings and let them sweat and soften to improved the flavors before putting it all in the crock pot. I dumped it all in, added a little extra cayenne (my husband likes things spicy) and I also added a can of rotel tomatoes and green chiles. Anyways, this was delicious, thanks for the great recipe, it will be making a reappearance in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is super good! I used chicken broth instead of water and frozen field peas with green beans. I will be making this over & over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Awesome! I followed this recipe exactly as written and it turned out great. Not too spicy either, just a little kick to it....the 2, 4, and 6 year olds gobbled it right up! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States