Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My family who usually complains about black eyed peas on new years day actually loved this variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We loved this. A perfect New e Year's Day meal! I did not have a jalepeno - used some Tabasco sauce instead. Otherwise, I reduced the water by one cup and got a nice thick dish. Very tasty - I look forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fantastic. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made these today for our traditional New Year's Day dinner with collard greens. I left out the peppers since I didn't have them and added a few red pepper flakes for the jalapeno. Mine were done in about 6 hours and I didn't soak them ahead of time. I like the ease of preparation of these and the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I soaked my beans overnight, browned my bacon, sauted the onions and used ham hocks instead of chopped ham. Served with jalapeno corn bread found on this site and it was an amazing meal!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was lip-smacking good! My mother's beans were never this delicious and she can cook! My family was eating out of the slow cooker before I can serve them. I put them on shortly after the ball dropped on New Year's on low and when I woke up my hubby was telling me how good the beans were. My teen boys were also in the slow cooker "taste testing". I didn't even get a chance to taste and tweak it before everyone else tasted. I added a can of Rotel as per another reviewer and another jalapeno. Other than that, stayed true to the recipe. DELICIOUSO!!! Another staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Loved this! Left out the bacon. Used leftover ham bone and all chicken broth. Cooked 5 hours on high. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious!! They were supposed to be for dinner tonight, but I am already eating them. The house smelled amazing while they were cooking. Just the right amount of heat. The only thing I may do differently next time is to render the bacon seperately, and maybe put them on top when serving. Overall, this is really good, much better than the usual black eyed peas I have made for New Years. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was incredible! I made it for New Year's Eve and everyone loved it! I wouldn't change a thing, other than it cooked faster than I thought. That is probably my slow cooker, however. I will cook them for 4 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great recipe. To give it an extra kick I took this recipe, upped it to 8 cups of water, 12oz of ham, 2 boullion cubes and then doubled all the spices. Just as a final customization I added a little fresh Cilantro. This got great reviews from friends at my party including from a couple of good ol' Southern Boys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grays, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States