Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious!! They were supposed to be for dinner tonight, but I am already eating them. The house smelled amazing while they were cooking. Just the right amount of heat. The only thing I may do differently next time is to render the bacon seperately, and maybe put them on top when serving. Overall, this is really good, much better than the usual black eyed peas I have made for New Years. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was incredible! I made it for New Year's Eve and everyone loved it! I wouldn't change a thing, other than it cooked faster than I thought. That is probably my slow cooker, however. I will cook them for 4 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great recipe. To give it an extra kick I took this recipe, upped it to 8 cups of water, 12oz of ham, 2 boullion cubes and then doubled all the spices. Just as a final customization I added a little fresh Cilantro. This got great reviews from friends at my party including from a couple of good ol' Southern Boys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grays, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I work 3rd shift. I made this recipe and brought it in for my co-workers on New Years. I returned home that morning with an empty bowl. This will be a New Years tradition in my family from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Someone who works at my local grocery store told me that whenever I make BEPs to add in a can of unsweetened coconut milk and I won't be sorry. I thought this sounded kinda crazy but I did it with this recipe and I was blown away. I pretty much stayed true to the recipe except that I added a box of free range chicken broth with the coconut milk and 1 cup of water instead of what was called for in this recipe (water + bouillon). Since I had one pablano pepper and not the jalopeno, I used that instead. I also substituted 2 smoked ham hocks instead of the bacon because that ends up giving you less fat and the incredible smoked taste that is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Added Emerils Slap Ya Mamma spice, Store didn't have japenos so did another pepper, used 12 oz dized ham, powdered garlic, but all in all it really turned out outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The beans are great. I did make some changes. I soaked the beans overnight and reduced the liquid to 1 qt low salt chicken broth. I used 2 onions, 1 red pepper, 1 orange pepper and 3 ribs of celery all diced. I used about 1 lb of chorizo sausage, browned well. I then used the same pot to sautee the veggies. I also used more garlic. I increased the cumin to 2.5 tsp and instead of cayenne I used chipolte powder. I did not add the jalepeno. I also did not need to add salt. I put everything in a slow cooker and let it go overnight on low. I know I made a lot of changes, but the basic recipe is the same and I recomend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I GAVE THIS DISH 3 STARS - CAUSE ALL ARE GOOD - BUT THERES A LITTLE KNOWN FACT THAT IS OVER LOOKED IN ALMOST ALL BLACKEYED PEA DISHES - YOU ARE NOT TO USE HAM IN THEM - THE RUTTER IS THE PART YOUR SUPOSED TO USE ( NOSE OF THE PIG ) THE REASON IS SO YOU GO FORWARD THE COMMING NEW YEAR - NOT BACKWARD - HAVE A HAPPY NEW YEAR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I moved to the south in 2010 and decided I'd better add black-eyed peas to my cooking repertoire. The first 3 recipes I tried were not promising. But we finally found a winner! I'm enjoying next-day leftovers now. I followed the advice of another reviewer who substituted low-sodium canned broth for the bouillon cube and it worked out great. Instead of ham & bacon I used 10 oz. diced salt pork and omitted jalapeno (just didn't have it in the house) and the finished stew isn't missing a thing! Everyone in my family enjoys it too and we'll definitely be having this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe! I substituted one package of jalapeno sausage for the bacon and ham. It was spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States