Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome flavor with a few changes of my own and what others suggested: (1) omit salt, broth and meats add plenty of salt; (2) I used vegetable base in place of chicken cube and a tsp. of Vigo ham flavoring; (3) I substituted chipolte powder for cayenne for a smoky heat; (4) I added 2 chopped carrots and 1 stalk chopped celery for extra vegetables and fiber without much change to taste but pretty colors. (5) 1-2 hrs before finishing the 8 hrs on low in a crock pot, I added 1 bunch chopped collard greens; (5)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I never even thought to cook black-eyed peas in the slow cooker until I found this recipe last year. For that alone, it gets 5 stars! I don't add all the spices because I don't think they're necessary (jmo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I forgot the red bell pepper but it was still delicious! It turned out more like soup, and was wonderful. I didn't use a jalapeno since Iwas also serving my 2-yr old--instead I used 1/2 a yellow chili and 1/2 and anaheim chili. It gave a nice kick but not overly spicy. The recipe says "salt to taste" so I guessed and used 1 tsp of salt and it was perfect to me. Also fyi, I did not pre-soak the beans and they were perfectly cooked after 6 hours on low. Actually my husband couldn't wait and was eating them at 5 1/2 hrs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My family who usually complains about black eyed peas on new years day actually loved this variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We loved this. A perfect New e Year's Day meal! I did not have a jalepeno - used some Tabasco sauce instead. Otherwise, I reduced the water by one cup and got a nice thick dish. Very tasty - I look forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fantastic. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made these today for our traditional New Year's Day dinner with collard greens. I left out the peppers since I didn't have them and added a few red pepper flakes for the jalapeno. Mine were done in about 6 hours and I didn't soak them ahead of time. I like the ease of preparation of these and the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I soaked my beans overnight, browned my bacon, sauted the onions and used ham hocks instead of chopped ham. Served with jalapeno corn bread found on this site and it was an amazing meal!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was lip-smacking good! My mother's beans were never this delicious and she can cook! My family was eating out of the slow cooker before I can serve them. I put them on shortly after the ball dropped on New Year's on low and when I woke up my hubby was telling me how good the beans were. My teen boys were also in the slow cooker "taste testing". I didn't even get a chance to taste and tweak it before everyone else tasted. I added a can of Rotel as per another reviewer and another jalapeno. Other than that, stayed true to the recipe. DELICIOUSO!!! Another staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Loved this! Left out the bacon. Used leftover ham bone and all chicken broth. Cooked 5 hours on high. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States