Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Love it! I love having a bit more spiciness to traditional black-eyed beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubypeaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Best Black-Eyed Peas I've ever eaten! People in my family that absolutely would not eat them, enjoyed them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Merged these instructions with the ingredients for Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These were really good but waaaaaaaaaaay too spicy (and I like spicy). I would cut the spicy spices in half or just serve cayenne or tabasco on the side. I had to add apple juice and brown sugar to cut down on the spicy. And don't worry if you think it's too watery--if you're adding greens in the last hr (like me & another reviewer) you'll need that extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Made this for New Year's Day party. Used leftover ham and omitted the bacon. Otherwise followed the recipe. Huge hit - will make again!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I wanted to try something new for the HOLIDAY and stumbled upon this gem. Wow! The flavor in this recipe is all over the place and you will not be disappointed. My husband, who normally eats a spoonful to keep up in tradition, ate this by the bowlful multiple times. I prepared this as is, the only change is I used my pressure cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todayz_Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very good recipe. I enjoyed it more as leftovers....it seemed to taste better with each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I have always so-so liked black eyed peas but after trying this recipe, I now can say I LOVE them. It is truly an outstanding recipe and will become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Loved this, so easy! Was better the second day as leftovers, thicker. We like spicy foods, even added a little bit of hot sauce individually. Didn't add any extra salt; there was enough in the bouillon cube and the turkey ham I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I fixed this for New Years and it was the best! I have made Black-Eyed Peas for years, but decided to try this recipe. I won't go back to the old one. I used 3 cups of chicken broth and 3 cups of water in place of the bouillon cube. I also added about a cup of chopped cabbage. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States