Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I love this recipe!! Made it just as written and it was awesome! Since I have made many times and have made some changes, broth instead of water and bouillon. And I add greens to it during the last hour or so of cooking on New Years for some extra good luck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I thought this was very good and easy. I was going to add carrots and celery but it didn't need it. I also didn't soak my beans and they ended up being the perfect consistency. A great recipe that doesn't require too many ingredients but still has plenty of flavor. My only suggestion would be to add something green to freshen it up a bit. If I would have had kale or mustard greens I would have added them. I ended up adding cilantro and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
YUMMY!!!! My family calls this Hoppin' John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I had made blackeyed peas before from dried and they turned out like mush. These were actually good. It seems they overcook real easy. I cooked 5 hours on low and they were perfect! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Princess Tanya
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Had I felt led to give this recipe a lower rating I would not have posted since I feel it is unfair to give a low rating when you do not follow the recipe as posted. However, this was a hit and even though I made a few adjustments I am still posting a solid 4 star rating. What caught my attention was the slow cooker cooking method and not so much the spiciness. Not being a fan of spicy, I omitted the jalapeno (and the red pepper). I also used canned chicken broth instead of the bouillon. Otherwise I stuck with the recipe and the preparation/cooking method and thought the peas turned out great! The addition of the ham and cumin really gave a great smoky flavor. These were a wonderful addition to my New Years Day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Usually, corned beef is the star of the meal for us on New Year's Day, but not this year! Everyone raved over these! I used broth instead of cubes, no salt, and just let these cook on low all day long. It was so good I was still eating it for lunch with corn bread the whole next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Nevitt Borgnini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atrublkqueen
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Absolutely loved these! Didn't use ham, I put 2 ham hocks in and this was a wonderful dish! My gf is wanting this again! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atrublkqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Really good! Made this on New Year's Day as Black Eyed Peas bring you luck in the New Year per the southern tradition. My husband who never eats them with me actually really liked this! I didn't buy bacon for just the few slices this recipe called for and didn't miss them. I wouldn't call this recipe spicy (added a lot of hot sauce to my bowl!) so don't shy away if you don't like spicy foold. It's just plain yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Love it! I love having a bit more spiciness to traditional black-eyed beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubypeaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Best Black-Eyed Peas I've ever eaten! People in my family that absolutely would not eat them, enjoyed them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States