Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I had company coming over for supper but I wasn't sure what time they would arrive. This sauce worked really well. I cooked it for 4 hours on low. When I put it all together I was a bit concerned that it tasted very tomatoey but after 4 hours it was delicious. I have some leftovers and they will go into the freezer. To make the meal easier I pre-cooked the spaghetti for about 3/4 the time needed and rinsed it in cold water. I kept the water simmering on the stove and kept adding water and then when my guests arrived I turned the pot back up to boil and put the mostly cooked spaghetti in the pot. It only took a couple of minutes to finish cooking and we were eating within a short time of their arrival. I would do this again if I needed a meal like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Easy & tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToRi Torrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Quinta, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
uses some more salt and sugar and itlaian seasoning and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Recipe creator indicated they didn't know exact measurements for spices, so keeping that in mind, I doubled the amount of Italian seasoning, added more garlic, and also added some beef soup base. Seemed to have a strong taste of the tomato paste, almost bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This lacks the robust flavor of Italian sauces. Tasted too much like sauce from a jar with beef added. Definitely needs more spices. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. We're a small family so I halved it, doubled the garlic and the seasoning, added a couple of small hot sausages and threw a bay leaf into the slow-cooker for good measure; we had delicious leftovers for days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gnomie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was very good! I added some extra spices and some broccoli towards the end. This made a great dinner, and even good as left overs the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Hmmm, not sure about this one. I had read that I should add dry herbs at the end of slow cooking so I waited til the end of cooking and the sauce was good, but on the bland side. I made a triple batch and have since used the sauce as a base for chili and baked spaghetti where I can add flavourings as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMIESMOM1973

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this twice and each time I tasted a "burnt" flavor. Not too sure any tomato sauce is meant for the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
not so good kind of flat flavored and really tangy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States