Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
If I could have put anything lower than 1 star...that would have been more than this recipe deserved. I cannot believe I actually read this recipe and decided to make it because I wanted to do something easy in a slow cooker. This person must have been on some type of hallucination medication...and you know what I am talking about! This was the worst sauce I have ever tasted. Thank goodness I had a jar of Classico sauce in my pantry to save my family for dinner that night. I am warning you....never use this recipe. It is not edible. It's not fit for the bugs that live under my house to eat!! Please...for God's sake....do not make this sauce!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
We really liked this sauce! Scaled the dried seasonings down a bit since I am sure the author meant teaspoons instead of tablespoons. Found many of the other reviews to be cruel and out of line so I decided to give this recipe a try regardless of some of the mean spirited reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I made this again using only 1 tablespoon of the spices, replaced thyme with basil, and then added about 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and it was much more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
This sauce is really good. I didn't have a crockpot big enough so I used my Nesco oven and set the temp at 250 degrees and cooked it for about 6 1/2 hours. I then put the sauce in canning jars and processed it for 35 min. I'm looking forward to trying the sauce on pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Yuck! I always try to find one positive because some people cannot take criticism well, and I usually find ONE good thing about a recipe. The only GOOD thing about this AWFUL sauce is that my crock pot is finally rid of it. I cannot believe this is a recipe that's been passed on for generations! The spices are so overwhelming and do not blend kindly. This was awful--one spoonfulwas all it took to realize that we weren't having it for dinner that night--or EVER AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
You do not have do be a semi competent cook to realize that this is a flawed recipe!! shame on you people for even wasting time and ingredients.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I will not make this again. The slow cooker/crock pot tends to really bring out the taste of dried herbs--it magnified it so that the herbs were overwhelming. We couldn’t even eat this. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was a great sauce I added some veggies extra onions, celary, carots, red and green peppers it gave it that real fresh home made sauce taste. This sauce freezes and re-heats very well this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
This basic spaghetti sauce is a great starting place for someone that isn't sure how to make in the slow cooker. I was surprised at how much flavor the extra spices added. I would not have normally used that much. I did add a little bit of sugar as well since I found the sauce a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin43
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This sauce was great and smelled up the entire house with it's yummy aroma! I put raw home made meatballs in mine, cooked it on low for 10 hrs. and served it over whole wheat pasta. Yum! Yum! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States