Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Basic sauce. And it is TEASPOONS. I have a feeling the author must have meant that because dried seasonings are very powerful. And the only reason it was probably overwhelming to anyone else is because they used tablespoons. I don't think this recipe deserves all those negative reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was the first time I have tried making my own spaghetti sauce since I usually opt for the more convenient jars of sauce. This sauce was very easy to make and was loved by my husband and 2 year old child. I will definitely be saving this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
EXcellent sauce for being so easy and effortless. I scaled it down to six and it still made enough for my family of four and then I froze half. I made a few changes, I replaced the rosemary with basil, used half as much thyme and substitued the other half with parsley, added 1 tbsp of sugar, and some italian sausage. I also only cooked it for 3 hours, I think any longer would have made the flavor start to deteriorate. Its so nice to be out of the house all day and not have to worry about your sauce. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This sauce was great plenty of left overs which we were happy to eat again. We did however add some brown sugar and extra garlic and Italian seasonings, along with pepperoni and mushrooms and ground hamburger. It was no longer fat free when we were through with it. This was a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scarborough, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was a fabulous idea! I did reduce the size of the batch. I used herbs that I like in my sauce. Before making this, I was surprised by the comments of how strong the spices were, because I usually put a ton in my sauce. I must agree, it was a bit "herby." I think the reason is because of it cooking covered in the slow cooker (versus my trying to cook down the sauce on the stop top). Either way, I used it to make baked ziti for Christmas Eve, and it was a HUGE hit! I will make my sauce this way all the time...what a great time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Wow, I'm really surprised by some of the cruel reviews. Anyway, we make a version of this sauce and love it! I don't put nearly as many spices in, and add some browned, seasoned ground sirloin. We also don't use as much tomato sauce, and I add a can off diced tomatoes for texture. I simmer it all day on the stovetop (with meat) then serve it with thin spaghetti. I will never use Ragu again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is great sauce.I used 3tsp of spices instead of tbs. I also added a little brown sugar and some red wine.It made alot,froze well,and I can use it in many recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
We really liked this sauce! Scaled the dried seasonings down a bit since I am sure the author meant teaspoons instead of tablespoons. Found many of the other reviews to be cruel and out of line so I decided to give this recipe a try regardless of some of the mean spirited reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I agree with everyone else that the spices were a little overpowering.....I as well had to add sugar to help with the acidity of the tomato's. It is very basic and a good start for someone who doesn't know where to start with making sauce....otherwise I thought it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
My family really enjoyed this recipe. My husband who often gets heartburn didn't bother him one bit. It made alot of sauce so I frozen 2 more serving of it. I didn't add the rosemary because I don't like it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Solomon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States