Slow Cooker Southern Lima Beans and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Simple but very good. If you like Lima beans you will love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These beans are killer! Followed recipe exactly except added a tsp of habanero hot sauce. Beans aren't "spicy" but have a very rich flavor... will make a double batch next time! Quick soaked, then into the crockpot, covered with water, 4 hours on high, added the spices, and that was it! Didn't cook any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Good news ~ Bad news......I did as directed in the recipe but did add a can of diced tomatoes with jalepenos. Good news ~ the beans are fantastic! Bad news ~ I did high for the first 3 hours, added the cajun seasoning and pepper and then to low for 4 hours. The beans were still too hard at the end of the 4 hours on low. Back to high for an additional 1 1/2 hours and the beans are done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Simple, yummy and a little addicting. I made these beans exactly as written. The only thing is my beans were almost done after 3 hours on high. I added the spices, stirred and left them on high for almost one hour more. Perfect! Will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Perfect with hot rolls on our winter day! Takes me back to visiting Grandma in the south...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lprp8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I added a bit of cumin - I soaked beans overnight (I used baby lima beans), as I usually do and then cooked all day on low in the crockpot. To poster John who added the tomatoes, the acid will affect most types of beans --- add tomatoes once the beans are already soft for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
The recipe I received from my Norfolk,Virginia mother-in-law: at the end of cooking add 1/4 cup cider vinegar and 1/2 cup milk. This thickens it up and makes it yummy. We like to add even more vinegar to taste. Be careful not to scorch mixture after adding the milk. I turn off the heat at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monte Vista, Colorado, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner. It was great, much better than it looked and it looked great. I did add a clove of garlic just to have a little taste of that. It turned out wonderful. Lots of juice left over and my wife ate it like soup. I cooked it just like it said, two hours on high, four hours on low, turned out great. The spice was just perfect, I may have added about 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper rather than a pinch. Makes allot, so I cut the beans down to half, but kept the rest the same. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillett, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Easy and good. Lima beans are just not our favorite but it was tasty and something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I made this for supper tonight. AND was it a winner! I made a few changes: (1) added ham base since I didn't have a ham hock. (2) added a little chopped celery with the onion (3) used both ham and smoked sausage instead of just ham. The broth was perfectly seasoned. I will add this recipe to my collection and use it every time my husband requests a "pot of dried limas".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States