Slow Cooker Sloppy Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I've now made 2 Swiss steak recipes from this site and liked the other one better although this one is still good. I served mine over white rice but it would go really good over some mashed potatoes too :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Doubled the recipe and omitted the browning of the meat. I did season and dredge in flour but added right to the crockpot in layers with the veggies. My only other change was to use white wine since I had no red. Otherwise this smells so good while cooking all day. Served with Seasoned Noodle Mix from this site and and Grandmothers Buttermilk Cornbread from this site. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was really good, my 5 and 3 year old ate it up and they're picky. I didn't have bell pepper or the sloppy joe mix, so I used a couple cans of tomato sauce and extra worcestershire, oh yeah I didn't have red wine either. But still was excellent,can't wait when I make this again with all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: California City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was just alright. It tasted kind of like a spicy roast. Also, you can use any cheap cut of meat in this recipe, it cooks so long, its all going to fall apart anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I, too, skipped the browning part. I didn't have Sloppy Joe sauce, so I used a small can of tomato sauce and an equal amount of BBQ sauce. Added a squirt of Tabasco and some soy sauce. I used a frozen bag of carrot medallions, and both the steak and carrots were frozen when I started the Crockpot. Came home to a yummy dish we served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Did not use the slow cooker, was in a hurry and used ground beef. Next time I'll add soy sauce on the table...this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tesa Dazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe was delicious!! I used Swiss Steak and substituted Red Wine Vinegar for the actual Red Wine. This will be made frequently!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Smith Carl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this almost exactly as written, and it was pretty good! I didn't have a green pepper, left it out. I didn't have any Rotel, but I used a can of diced tomatoes and a half can of diced green chilies, with juice. As per another reviewer, I added a can of tomato sauce, since I also didn't have red wine. I put in a splash of balsamic vinegar to the sauce before I added it to the crock pot. Was super tasty! Next time, I think I'll add more carrots. Hubby said it tasted like an Italian pot roast he loves in a fancy restaurant! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I did take the time to flour the meat and brown it first and I think that might be why it was so good. It took me a while to find the right meat-there are so many types of round steak. Finally found the right one, not too thin. Very tender and flavorful. Served on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States