Slow Cooker Shredded Venison for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I used this for a beef roast and it turned out Great! So much of a hit that I didn't get any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I do not care for venison but had some to use up so I thought I would try this. I used 4 venison steaks and was thrilled with the results. This made great taco meat that I used to make nachos, my family did not know that it was venison. I did double the amount of taco seasoning and replaced half the water with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I used all the taco seasoning and instead of water i used coca-cola in the slow cooker. Turned out great very tender and shredded much easier with the coke. Also chopped up 1 habanero! perfect kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Since I have a freezer full of Venison I was looking for creative ways to use it. I had a 1-3/4 lb. roast and cooked it per the directions. Much to my surprise, after the time in the slow cooker the roast was no where near tender enough to shred with a fork. I had to put it in the pressure cooker for about 1/2 hour-ish to make it shreddable. I then seasoned with the remaining taco seasoning. I guess we're spoiled with ground beef in our tacos. We didn't care much for this. Even my deer hunting venison-lovin' husband wasn't a fan. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used fajita seasoning instead of taco. I don't recommend it; very bland. The meat turned out really well and shredded easily. Will try with taco seasoning next time and maybe some extra spices/jalepenos/etc. I also threw sliced green pepper in the crock pot a half hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I used this recipe for moose meat and it was fantastic. I took the advice of others who said some flavor was lacking and used the whole packet of taco seasoning mix. I also added some sliced jalapenos to the water in the slow cooker. It gave it a nice kick. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I forgot to thaw my roast so I mixed the taco seasoning and cayenne pepper with the water and poured it over my frozen roast. At the end of the day it shredded easily! We hunt mule deer, and I understand they have a stronger taste than whitetail, which it what I assume most venison recipes are made for. That is why I gave this recipe four stars--the meat was pretty strong, but as I said, I believe that was the deer and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very tender, although bland, it was still good. I would not have thought of using venison for tacos before seeing this recipe. Thanks for sharing! Would consider making again, but would want to add more seasoning,etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was really very good! I would have added more seasoning as I thought it was bland, but my family raved about it the way it was. Definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was so easy and wonderfully amazing! I was looking for a new way to cook venison, and this is now my favorite way to cook venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States