Slow Cooker Shredded Venison for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I loved this recipe! I have made it twice, the second time I used more taco seasoning to make in more spicy. After pulling the meat apart I mix it with barbecue sauce, then serve it on soft taco shells with cheese and sour cream, very good! My husband doesn't generally like venision, but this has quickly become one of his favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
It's great and for all of you who haven't tried it you're missing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This was awesome!! The recipe was very easy to put together. I made this for my sister-in-law and her family and used it to stuff burritos with all of the fixings. They couldn't even tell it was venison! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I used a backstrap cut into small chunks so that it would cook faster. This was super-easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was so easy and wonderfully amazing! I was looking for a new way to cook venison, and this is now my favorite way to cook venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I used this recipe for moose meat and it was fantastic. I took the advice of others who said some flavor was lacking and used the whole packet of taco seasoning mix. I also added some sliced jalapenos to the water in the slow cooker. It gave it a nice kick. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I used this for a beef roast and it turned out Great! So much of a hit that I didn't get any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I do not care for venison but had some to use up so I thought I would try this. I used 4 venison steaks and was thrilled with the results. This made great taco meat that I used to make nachos, my family did not know that it was venison. I did double the amount of taco seasoning and replaced half the water with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used fajita seasoning instead of taco. I don't recommend it; very bland. The meat turned out really well and shredded easily. Will try with taco seasoning next time and maybe some extra spices/jalepenos/etc. I also threw sliced green pepper in the crock pot a half hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I used all the taco seasoning and instead of water i used coca-cola in the slow cooker. Turned out great very tender and shredded much easier with the coke. Also chopped up 1 habanero! perfect kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States