Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I liked the potential of this recipe as it wasn't as high in cheese, butter, etc. that make most potato dishes delicious. Unfortunately, we really didn't like it. Even with doubling the cheese and using milk instead of water - it came out pretty gross. It was not cheesy at all. I would not recommend it nor will I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Very good recipe. Only thing I did differently was to cook in 350* oven for 2 hours. Took to a church pot-luck dinner today and got rave reviews! Everything was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
We loved this recipe! I used red potatoes and didn't bother peeling them...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
But as in other reviews i made some modifications. I used 1 can milk and 1 of half and half. I lasted the potatoes ham onions and sliced some mushrooms and layered them on top of onions then added a thin layer sharp cheddar. For 5qt crock you can adjust for as big a casserole you want. I added more ham cause we had so much left from Easter. I also lightly sauted 2 finely minced cloves garlic added cream of mushroom soup the cream,milk and Swanson concentrated liquid chicken broth (i don't have a problem w too much salt) I don't add extra salt anywhere in recipe. I use white pepper when layering because its not as spicy as black pepper and adds a very unique delicious flavor. I preheated liquids because i was a little late getting it all together due to shattered rt lower forearm and wouldn't you know im rt handed but love to cook. Lol another tip preheat your crock while your prepping ingredients. And to round off supper the last 5 to 10 minutes i topped with baby spinach and and an Italian mixture of 5 grated cheeses. Oh so good and you'll learn to love your spinach. And you have a complete meal. I gave recipe 5stars because basic recipe has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This was excellent and so very easy. I'm wondering if temperatures vary from brands-to-brands of slow cookers. I just followed the recipe and found it really DID take 4 hours on high to fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Excellent recipe. I did use milk instead of water and cooked for 5 instead of 4 hours. Came out creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
We did not like this, but I think it would be good if we doubled the ham and cheese or used less potatoes. 3 pounds is too much potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Loved this recipe. Much lighter than traditional scalloped potatoes. I opted to bake this at 350 in the oven. Baked it for an hour in an 13x9 dish using 7-8 medium yellow/gold potatoes and a maple ham steak, diced. Stirred after an hour and cooked it for another 15 minutes to be sure potatoes were done. It didn't seem to have enough sauce so that is why I stirred it. In the end it proved to be a very nice and light, roasted-potatoes consistency, with a light sauce. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaytonaLori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This was my first time attempting homemade scalloped potatoes as I usually just add ham to the Betty Crocker box stuff and it was delicious! I did double it since we are big eaters. I used milk instead of water so itd be more creamy. My 14yr old is a pretty finicky eater and she really liked it. My husband said I'm a better cook than Betty Crocker..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
MADE GLUTEN FREE IT'S GREAT. Just use an 18 oz can of gluten free cream of mushroom soup and a little milk, couple Tbsps. Make sure your ham is GF and you're good to go. I did find, as others did, that 4 hours in the crockpot didn't cut it. Transferred to oven for the rest of the cooking. If I'd started earlier the slow cooker would have been nice. It was awesome and will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States