Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I wasn't sure what to do with my ham, but I knew I wanted to use my slow cooker. I used a bit more ham, and we loved it. I've recommended this to my co-workers, if they're looking for a great meal that's quick and easy to prepare. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe! I have made it so many times and my kids/grandkids love it. It's a perfect dish to take to a potluck supper at church. I've used ham steaks, pork chops and chicken just to change it up - it's great with all three. If you don't try it you are missing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
We loved it with a few changes Used cream instead of water, doubled the ham and cheese, next time I will add a little flour or corn starch to thicken the water baked out of the potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I really really hate rating recipes low, but gosh these really didn't turn out. After half the cook time, the liquid was the consistency of water. I decided at that point to add a little half and half and flour. Still by the time they were done the liquid was still watery like. I let the potatoes cool down and the little bit of liquid soaked right in them and seemed to disappear. The potatoes almost tasted like boiled potatoes that came from a can. Some of the potatoes even browned tasting bitter or tinny tasting. My only change was leaving out the ham. That would not affect the liquid texture. If anything it may have helped with the potatoes not tasting too salty. I followed the directions otherwise. If I would have read some of the more critical reviews I would have read about the flavor issue and consistency of the liquid. Now, to create some sauce to see if I can give the potatoes some type of coating, flavor, or richness, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Super easy to fix and tasted great!! I cooked on high in crockpot for 4hrs but will cook for 5 hours next time to make the potatoes a bit more creamy. I will also omit the salt, its not needed with the cheese and ham there is plenty of sodium. Also.used full can milk with the soup instead of water. Great recipe and my husband and daughters ages 3 and 5 loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very easy and tasty - my husband is a big fan of ham and scalloped potatoes so I just had to make this for him! I did tweak the recipe a bit. I more than doubled the amount of ham and used a whole vidalia onion layering it in the crock pot first along with light shredded cheddar cheese. I mixed 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup with an equal can of fat free half and half vs. water. I used fresh minced garlic vs. powdered. I poured that over everything and let it go on high for 4 hours. Since it didn't seem creamy enough I added 4 oz. light cream cheese and another 1/2 cup of shredded cheese. I cooked it for another two hours and it thickend up and was a lot creamier. My husband asked for seconds so it's a definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Amazing I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My dad is from Idaho and he always says he's never met a potato he didn't like but he didn't like these and asked me not to make them again. I think for us the Cream of Mushroom soup clashed with the cheese. I did add extra cheese (more than double) to try and save them but it didn't help. They did cook through with 2 hours on high and 3 on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
An absolutely delicious recipe. I made it for my Easter 2014 dinner (just the cats and I so I didn't want to cook up a whole, big ham). I have to admit that I added 1 1/2 table spoons of Old Bay seasoning to the slow cooker but then I add Old Bay to just about everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This dish is a great, delicious and timeless dish that our family loves. To layer it first before cooking is key. Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States