Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Great comfort food for the fall. I took the advise of some others to layer the ingredients, use mushroom soup with garlic, double the ham and cheese and to use milk not water. I also cooked on high for 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
605 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I modified this slightly. I eliminated the ham since I was making a full ham to go with these. I also eliminated the onion. I used the cream of mushroom soup & one full soup can of milk instead of water. Along with the chedder cheese I added about 3/4 C of mozz. cheese & monteray jack that I had in the fridge wanting to use up. I also added about 3 cloves of crused garlic. Everyone loved them! I just threw everything in the crock pot very early in the day & kept it on low for about 5 hours then went to high for the last hour. Will be making again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
477 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I've made this several times now. It doesn't seem to turn out in my slow cooker, but 1 1/2 hours at 325 in the oven does quite a nice job instead. I usually add some mushrooms, and I have always been happy with the results. Nice and creamy, very cheesy, freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
455 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Outstanding. The only thing I did differently was to layer the ingredients before adding the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This is a great, easy recipe! I used all the ingredients called for, but I did make one slight adjustment. I cooked this for about 7 hours on low instead of high for 4 hours. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATRANTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I have been making ham and scalloped potatoes for years and used milk and more cheddar cheese. I always found them a bit greasy. This was a great recipe...nice a creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
It was alright. I only made a couple changes: Doubled the ham and used 1/8 teaspoon of salt. My roommate and I felt the dish was not cheesy enough and lacked the kick other dishes from this site had. I prefer the "Three Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes" recipe to this one. I did not enjoy the texture of the ham in this dish and wish it had been cooked separately. I probably will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This was fantastic. Three of us ate the entire thing in one sitting! I didn't have time for the slow cooker so just mixed it all up and baked it at 350 for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
DEFFINATELY A 5 STAR RECIPE I AM NEW TO THIS SITE SO I READ THE OTHER REVIEWS ON THIS RECIPE AND FOUND THAT THE PEOPLE THAT WERENOT REALLY THRILLED WITH IT CHANGED THE RECIPE....I WILL USE THIS AGAIN FOR SURE.....LOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is very similiar to my recipe for slow cooker scalloped potatoes. My recipe is to butter the crockpot and layer half the potatoes, onions, seasonings, ham, and velveeta cheese. Repeat with second layer. Top with cream of chicken soup (or any other cream soup). Sprinkle with papricka. I cut the medium size potatoes in half before slicing thin. Doing this reduces my cooking time to just less then 3 hours on high. Another tip is to soak the raw potatoes in 1 cup of water mixed with 1 teaspoon of cream of tartar to prevent the potatoes from browning, drain water before layering. This is a wonderfully delicious and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States