Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made this with some leftover turkey ham, and it was flavorful and creamy! Used the healthy request cream of chicken soup, and followed advice of previous reviewers by using 2 cups of ham and placing water with nonfat milk. Put a splash of Tabasco in, and only used 2 1/2 lbs of potatoes (I have a small crockpot). Cooked 2 hours on low, then 3 on high. It was perfect, with crusty parts on the bottom! Used nonstick spray before starting, so cleanup wasn't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was good and super easy if you already have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLS38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was a big hit for dinner tonight. It was a great way to use left over ham. It was very easy and quick to pull together and let cook for the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicious and quite easy to throw together, but boy was it tough to clean my crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I made this recipe but made the mistake of not thinly slicing the potatoes. If anyone has ended up with a watery mixture because of having to cook it longer than the 4 hrs, this might be the problem. If this happens to you, this is how to fix it, and as a result, you will still have an amazing thick cheesy comfort meal! You will need 1 cup of milk, 2 TBSP flour and 1-2 cups of shredded chedder cheese (depending on how cheesy you like it. In a pan on low heat, whisk constantly milk and flour until thick and hot but not scolded or boiling (about 30 secs-1 min). Take off heat, and add anywhere between 1-2 cups of cheese. It must be EXTREMELY thick (thicker than pancake batter) because it must stand up to the watered down mixture in the crock. I added additional onion & garlic powders, and salt. Whisk for a minute until shredded cheese is melted. Mix into ham and potatoes in crockpot. I like it very thick, so I let it sit for a bit to let the mixture thicken more. It's even better if you refrigerate overnight and heat the next day. The flavors are even better and so much thicker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I did layer as suggested; used cr of chicken soup, garlic and 1 cup milk; sprinkled a little cheese over each layer and the rest on top. Used glass lasagna pan so wasn't very thick and cooked fine in oven for 1 1/2 hours. Next time I will double the ham (not chopped, small slices so as to not disappear) but all else the same. Great comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elida, Ohio, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I really liked this and thought it was really simple to make. The only change I made was to omit the salt since the cream soups tend to have quite a bit to begin with. I didn't think it needed it either. I'll definitely do this again and may take the advice of the other reviewer who suggested using polish sausage in place of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
My family loved this recipe!!! I did read a few of the other reviews, as I always do before trying any recipe from this site, and used some of the suggestions. I layerd the potaotes,cheese and onion mix and used polish kielbasa instead of ham. I also mixed the sauce with milk instead of water which made it very creamy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tfacsko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mancelona, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Excellent!! We loved this recipe and it was so easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Definitely making again! I used 2 cups cheese because I have a cheese-loving family (lots of Packer fans). My medium-sized crock pot (4-qt?) was too small so I put it in my 7-qt. It was nearly cooked in under 3 hours on high so I put it on low until halftime (2 hours). It got a crust on the bottom that was much loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BornInaZoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States