Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
We love this, but we make it just a little differently. First, we have a 6 QT crockpot so this puts our potatoes in a thinner layer on the bottom of the dish. This means the potatoes cook a little faster. Also, I don't slice potatoes anymore in any scalloped potato recipe. instead I cube it up fairly small, like 1/2 inch to 1/4 inch pieces. I use cream of celery for allergy reasons but also it has good flavor. I also use fresh garlic, one extra large clove. I didn't have ham but I did have a big bag of bacon bits from Costco, and figured it would actually taste better that way. I added a 1/4 cup milk on top of the water and probably had an extra lb of potato in there too but the flavor was really spectacular. We occasionally cook a ring of (pre-cooked) sausage on top of these, poke it so the juices run and away we go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Delicious!! I added extra ham to make it more substantial for a main dish, also added a little extra milk in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This came out wonderfully. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
My family gave this one a thumbs up and it was super easy to leave in the slow cooker. I cooked it on low (newer cooker which tends to run hotter than older models) and used Half & Half in place of the water. We were having ham slices so I put them across the top of the potatoes with just enough cooking time left to warm them nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I have made this twice, once for Easter dinner and again last night to go with grilled ribeye steaks. What I love about it is that I don't have to add any milk product to it, except of course the cheese (cheese is good!). If you bake it instead of slow cook it, 60 minutes is not long enough. In my oven it came out delicious and perfect at 1 hour and 20 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Mewowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I cooked in in my slow cooker on low for double the time. It was excellent! I also leave out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We absolutely love this recipe and it has been my only scalloped potatoes recipe I've used in the last two years. The only changes I made were I use fresh garlic rather than the powder and we love cheese so I add a hunk of Velveeta on top of the cheese listed. Other than that I follow it exactly as written and it turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
All I can say is that I will never make this again. I wanted to make a nice Easter dinner for my parents and husband and chose this. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out horrible. 0 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Loved it!! The flavor was amazing, i will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ionia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States